Sunday May 18, 2003

Fit or Quit

Okay. Getting older is not necessarily a pleasant process. Those of you who have been keeping up with my (mis)adventures know that I’ve been hitting the dreadmill lately. I’ve never been a runner type. Sprinting and bursts of effort over short distances … that’s fine. But jogging just never was my thing. Something would always go wrong. I’m enjoying the treadmill, though, because it allows me to ease into it and to have a plan and be precise. I know how fast I’m going and how long I’m going for and so on. I’m even keeping a log on newrunner.com. That’s a great site, by the way. Thanks to Rob McCauley, a friend from high school that I haven’t seen since 1989, for hipping me to it. It’s great. The jog log even helps keep track of the mileage you put on your running shoes.

Wednesday I did my workout, which was the same as Monday’s workout. I’m increasing the intensity weekly. That was the plan anyway. Little did I know that the Ghost of Exercise Past was out to get me. Wednesday was fine. I was sweating like a stuck pig in July, of course, but that’s normal during that much exertion. And of course my legs felt a little rubbery afterwards so I stretched and everything.

On Thursday I started to feel the soreness. Kind of felt like a muscle near my left hip was getting sore. Nothing out of the ordinary. Thursday night I began to feel pain. Friday morning when I woke up I was nearly dang crippled. I guess I can chalk this up to my first running injury. I don’t know what I did but it is not pleasant and I’m taking it easy until the pain goes away. I did some walking on the Treadmill on Friday. Took a few steps jogging just to see what would happen. That was a mistake. I already knew what was going to happen. Pain and suffering, self-inflicted and well deserved.

Anyway, that’s not what I wanted to write about. And now I forgot what that was.


Latest Web Project

As long as I’m stalling for time here, I did a redesign of Toby’s web site, at his request. It was a lot of work but fun and worth the effort. Besides, I’ve been wanting to do that ever since I first saw it. And it’s a lovely addition to my portfolio page, which is woefully lacking because I wasn’t politically astute enough to gather that kind of material at my last two places of employment. Let this be a lesson to you all. Learn from my mistakes. Since I’m not, apparently, somebody has to.

I still can’t remember what I was going to say. Oh well. I’ll be back later. Where’s the ginkgo biloba when you need it.

Leave a Reply

