Thursday, July 24, 2003

Bon Voyage Apetit

I went to an Entenmann’s discount store the other day looking for an old favorite. Alas, it was not to be found. I think it’s gone forever. That reminded me of some of my other favorite foods that were discontinued or killed off and I’ve been trying to remember them all. So far I have:

  • Entenmann’s Fudge Peanut Butter Chip cookies
  • Pizza Hut’s Milano Priazzo
  • Chevy’s Pork Loin Fajitas (in California)
  • Tropicana Twister Pineapple-Grapefruit (and other flavors)
  • Fruit Bars – “They did that to fruit?”
  • Monterey Jack Doritos
  • Black Angus Cheesesteak steak – in the frozen food section
  • KFC Rotisserie Chicken
  • The Charmings – Oh wait. That was a TV show. Does anyone besides me remember that? That was the short-lived sitcom about Prince Charming and Snow White and one dwarf waking up in the 80’s? Paul Winfield played Snow White’s stepmother’s magic mirror. Classic. I wonder if I would like it as much today as I did when it was out.

Positivity: #SF-0044

I spend a lot of time talking about things I don’t like on my mcLog (as Tosh put it) so every once in a while I want to make sure to say something positive, constructive or useful to someone.

Janna Mordan is training for the 2003 AIDS Marathon in Hawaii and is currently seeking donations.

“Approximately 1 in every 50 San Franciscans is living with HIV/AIDS. The money we raise will support HIV services and prevention programs in Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara Counties – to help keep people alive until there’s a cure.”

So stop by the web page and contribute a few dollars if the spirit moves you. You can do it online. It’s painless and you can even use a credit card and spread it out over a few months.

Those marathon training programs look like fun. A heck of a lot of work, but fun. I’ve still been running on the treadmill but I’ve just been experimenting and not focusing on any particular goal. But that experimenting has finally made me realize what I should be doing, which is to slow down and focus on running longer. I’ve also made the mistake of not running regularly in the past two weeks or so because I’ve been mountain biking a lot. Well, that’s not really a mistake and it’s a good thing but it doesn’t improve my ability to run, per se. Running stresses different muscles and it’s the strain on those muscles that stops me usually. Mainly the backs of my lower legs – between the ankles and calves. I’ll be trotting along, breathing well, otherwise feeling fine and then that uncomfortable twinge will start happening back there and completely throws me off.

The funny thing is that even though my mileage hasn’t improved recently (I’ll have to work on that) my mountain biking stamina, endurance and strength has. I wish I would have realized this years ago when I was biking with friends a lot. I was always so slow and got dropped and people had to wait for me while I got intensely painful charlie horses in assorted varieties. Felt like a heel. I don’t know what convinced me at some point in my life that I wasn’t capable of being in shape or that aerobic fitness was out of my reach. And I was so frustrated because I’d take someone riding for the first time and they would always have much more endurance than I did even though I was riding multiple times a week. Even though they were fit and in good shape and I knew that they jogged, I couldn’t figure out why. Too bad, really.

But now I know. And knowing is half the battle, GI Joe. Now it’s on.

Leave a Reply

