Language Snob

I was driving home today listening to the radio talk shows on WEAA.  That’s Morgan State University’s radio station.  The Black public radio station, basically.  Like I said in an earlier entry, some of the shows are pretty good.  But some of the hosts drive me nuts.  The guy on tonight kept saying “libary”.  Libary?!

I wanted to put the pedal to the metal, drive straight to the radio station, burst into the studio and yell, “It’s library!  LIBRARY!”

L-I-B-R-A-R-Y!  Say it!  Saaaaay It!  Library!”

Another guy can’t conjugate the verb “to have”.  I think that’s a common colliquialism around these parts.  Like, you’ll hear someone say something along the lines of:

“What he have done is to say libary instead of library.”

And have you heard of the Black Tax?  Someone was going around giving advice claiming that black people could claim what the government promised as part of the Emancipation Proclamation (I think) plus the interest.  That works out to about $500,000.  And da gubment actually mistakenly paid some people and is now pressing charges.  One woman got the money and within 8 days had gone through it.  She bought a Mercedes, made some loans and who knows what else.

I’ll have to see if I can find an article.  Too funny.  So sad it’s funny.

Anyway, I left the laptop at work today.  Aaaaaaah.  I guess I can eat and sleep tonight.

1 comment

Add Yours
  1. linkfelix2

    It’ll never libary on the radio gary. never. nor will i scream into the microphone. I’ll let you know when I’m on the radio next semester. Hopefully it’ll be at sometime when you’re available and at home. good luck with that commute and not going crazy.
    -pd-

Leave a Reply

