Atkins Autopsy

A vegetarian organization released Dr. Atkins’ autopsy report to the media recently.  So now people are saying that Dr. Atkins was obese and unhealthy and “Ha ha, you’re all fools.”  My mother made sure to point it out to me since I keep bugging her about the way she eats.  About 80% sweets.

Atkins’ family is saying that although he did have something wrong with a heart valve (some blockage, I believe) the extra weight was from fluid retention after his head injury.  For those of you who don’t know, he fell on some icy steps, hit his head and died from the injuries.  Judging from the photos, he was most definitely not obese and not 60 lbs. overweight.  One of my uncles was in a car accident and was on life support for a while before he died.  During that time he gained a lot of weight and was bloated from fluid retention.  A similiar thing happened to one of my great uncles after he had an embolism.  There’s a technical term for it only I can’t remember what the heck it is.  I’ll have to look it up.

Edema.

But like I said in an earlier post, there are a lot of organizations, companies and industries that are motivated to discredit low carb plans.  Don’t believe the hype.  I mean, don’t go out and eat a side of broccoli with all of the meat, butter and cheese you can get your lips around just because you didn’t eat a bagel that day but …we should imbibe our information responsibly.

I’ve been messing around with RSS today and there’s a lot of interesting stuff out there in blog form and other forums.  By chance, I found this picture in a journalist’s blog.  There’s a link to his article as well, although you can’t read all of it without registering on some web site.

http://business2.blogs.com/business2blog/2004/02/was_atkins_real.html

Leave a Reply

