Happy Birthday

Hooooly…

I can’t believe this.  By the time I finish writing and posting this, it will be my 32nd birthday.  I’m almost 32 years old.  T-minus and counting.  Am I supposed to feel like I’m running out of time?  There’s so much to do besides try to pay off credit card debt.

It’s a yearly ritual for me to either write or compose something on my birthday so I’d better get to work on that.  I should at least start.  I think from now on I’ll celebrate by treating my self – body, mind, soul, et al – with respect and dignity.

Years ago, I celebrated a birthday by buying a large Pizza Hut Meat Lover’s Pizza (pan crust).  I managed to eat nearly all of it.  A few hours later I was expelling all manner of things from both ends of my anatomy.  I thought to myself, “This is no way to celebrate a birthday.”  Food poisoning.  Ugh.

It was the opposite of life-affirming.  Jamming my face full of food megaton-age.  So life affirming celebration it is.  Thus, the creative attempt each March 2nd.  Maybe a run in the morning, treadmill-style.  Fresh fruit: a mango, strawberries and grapes.  And that super anti-oxidant pomegranate & tangerine concoction that I forgot and left in the car.  Yes indeedy.

Happy birthday to me
Happy birthday to me
Happy birthday, dear Gary
Happy birthday to me

2 comments

Add Yours
  1. linkfelix2

    awwww you’re so cute… in middle and high school. I don’t like your baby pictures as much but I have to admit you’re cute there in a baby way. I like the other pics better because you look like you do now more or less. You just look less mature, yet still mature in those middle/high school pics.

  2. mcstrings

    What do you mean you don’t like my baby pictures? Weirdo.

    For the record, I did eat fruit and hit the treadmill before work on the morning of March 2nd. I also did a good, long run the following weekend and got a really long hike in at Patapsco State Park.

    Why is it so hard to keep up the good stuff? Running every other day is a challenge but eating a bucket of cashews every day comes easy. Life is uphill.

Leave a Reply

