No, child left behind. – pt. 3

All these latchkey kids are left to their own devices when after school programs are cut due to lack of funds.  Art, music and even phys. ed are on the chopping block in many districts.  Hasn’t it been shown that kids are most likely to drink, do drugs, have sex and so on during the hours after school and before their parents get home from work?

The $87,000,000,000 that’s going to nation building in Iraq is sorely needed here.  And if more money isn’t that critical to education then why do the more prestigious schools have such exorbitant tuition rates?  Why do Ivy League schools cost more than community colleges by a factor of 10x?  Why are the best private schools out of the reach of most families (even school vouchers won’t fully bridge that gap)?  Why do wealthier neighborhoods want their property taxes to go to their public school districts?  Why isn’t the amount of money spent per student equal across districts, counties, states?  I mean, all men being created equal … well, if they were white men and owned land.  Whoa.  That’s a digression.

Cutting taxes for the wealthiest among us has caused our debt to skyrocket to hundreds of billions of dollars.  I think that money could best be used by investing in our kids’ education and our infrastructure.

I guess we’ll see what happens in November.  The country is in such a divisive state and over a few political hot potatoes.  All of this despite the efforts of Mr. Unifier-Not-a-Divider himself.  Sorry, sorry.  My cynicism is showing through a little bit.  I mean, President Unifier-Not-a-Divider.

Heh.  I crack me up sometimes.  I’m glad this isn’t a harsh, brutal dictatorship.  I’d be a lab specimen for the School of the Americas so fast.

Anyway, good night all.  I’m going to bed.  Need to rest up for some MTB tomorrow.

2 comments

Add Yours
  1. linkfelix2

    I recently donated 25 bucks to John Kerry’s online campaign fundraising site and then a day later I got an e-mail saying that they had raised 10.3 MILLION DOLLARS IN 10 DAYS!!! Their goal was 10 mil in 10 days. I think that’s pretty impressive. A lot of people on the internet want Monkey-Boy out of office, including me.

    -PD

Leave a Reply

