No, child left behind.

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I listen to a lot of talk radio.  Throughout the day I vascillate between very liberal KPFW to WAVA, the commercial Christian Conservative station.  Um, let me get this off my chest.  I have never, ever wanted to slap a woman but … Janet Parshall.  My goodness.  FYI, she’s one of the women sometimes referred to as the conservative Right’s “Attack Blondes”:  Janet Parshall, Ann Coulter, Barbara Gordon (aka the babe in the bunker), Dr. Laura, Sandy Rios, etc.

It takes a village to raise a child

Anyway, more than once in the past week I’ve heard the Right talking about money and education.  And “it takes a village” came up more than once, too.  Strange.  I think the latter comes from an African proverb, “It takes a village to raise a child.”

Hilary Clinton wrote a book with that title.  The Republicans jumped all over it rigorously and derisively.  At the time, one radio personality sneered, “It doesn’t take a village to raise a child.  It takes a mother and a father.”

Just this Friday I heard (paraphrasing but accurate), “It doesn’t take a village, it takes a family: mother, father, brothers, sisters, grandparents, aunts and uncles.  The ‘village’ concept is used by liberals to allow the government to raise our kids, supporting dysfunction through welfare and government subsidies payed for by normal, healthy, hard working families like yours and mine.”

That’s from a preacher, by the way.  A Christian preacher even though those words don’t ring as particularly Christ-like to my ears.  They sound more like David Duke.

I can tell you first hand that the community I grew up in was much healthier and stronger when everyone pretty much knew one another and the adults looked out for each other’s kids.  If somebody saw you misbehaving, they’d give you a good talking to and make sure your parents knew so you could get another talking to (or whoopin’) later.  Baby sitting, local boy scouts, little league sports, church and Sunday school, etc.  The elders of our village led the way.

End of side 1.

1 comment

Add Yours

Leave a Reply

