The Day before The Day After Tomorrow

You know.  I’m going to end up seeing the movie, “The Day After Tomorrow”.  Sadly, I don’t expect it to be good, though.

So far the movie’s been promoted with its special effects.  That’s not a good sign.  I didn’t even know who was in it until a few days ago.

I’ve seen a few “blockbusters” in the past few weeks and they’ve all been the same, pretty much.  By that, I mean there’s too much computer work and not enough (or consistent, sensible) story.  And Hollywood just keeps cranking them out, despite what seems to be a consensus that part of the soul of these movies is being sacrificed for the sake of special effects budgets.

At this point, I’d settle for a world-gets-destroyed movie that’s all special effects for an hour and a half.  Forget the actors.  And who needs a plot.  It could be like “Winged Migration” except fictional.  And it would probably be a better movie than most of the H-wood efforts.

The good news is that it should at least be less comic-booky than Van Helsing, Hellboy and that other one that I can’t remember.

Okay.  I hunger.  Must feed.

2 comments

Add Yours
  1. linkfelix2

    This entry actually made me laugh out loud. I’m not sure if you know it but your journal entries and writing in general are filled with such wit, sarcasm, and intelligence that they often rouse my emotions. I’m either pissed off or laughing at your comments or at what you reveal to me in your journal entries. I should come back here more often. Gary my man, keep it up. Also keep up that food watch program. Eat fiber and B12. Blueberries are the number one antioxidant. They are the healthiest thing for your brain.

    -Pablo

  2. mcstrings

    I did see the movie last weekend and it was a lot better than I expected it to be. The first half in particular was a very good disaster movie buildup.  Very well done.

    There were a few goofy things and two or three lines that were right out of the Environmentalist Handbook.  But other than that I liked the movie.  Mainly because there were only a few bad writing moments.  I consider bad writing moments as those where the characters do something unexpectedly (but predictably) stupid just so the plot can be advanced somehow.

    You know, like in horror movies where the heroes finally “kill” the villain and then drop the gun/axe to go check on their co-protagonist (usually the two attractive protagonists are the only ones left by this point).

Leave a Reply

