Shelter Hunt

What to write about.  Hmmmm.  I don’t know.

I can say this, though.  I do not enjoy this apartment hunting stuff.  If I didn’t have a 50 lb. dog it would be a zillion times easier for sure.  Okay that’s hyperbole.  It would be ten times easier.  That’s factual from the numbers I see from search results.  I realized that I may pay a premium but … still.  The search continues.

If anyone who reads this is familliar with Northern Virginia I’d like to find a place within a 30 minute commute of Old Town Alexandria. I’d like to pay, ideally, no more than $1,000/mo. on rent.  If I do pay more than that I want amenities:  fitness center, pool, W/D would be nice, cable-ready, high-speed internet-ready.  And of course, they have to allow dogs.  No small-dog or very strict breed-restrictions.

I do have a tip for those of you that are web savvy.  Craigslist.org now has a link for RSS feeds.  Download yourself a feed reader and you can be up to date and get the jump on listings.  You know, without having to go to the website, enter your search and browse through all of the results multiple times a day.  With Feed Demon (the RSS reader I recently found) you can even set a filter to look for certain things when it gets the latest info.

The wonders of modern technology.

Addendum:  What is an RSS Reader?

From xml.com, an article by Mark Pilgrim:

“RSS is a format for syndicating news and the content of news-like sites, including major news sites like Wired, news-oriented community sites like Slashdot, and personal weblogs. But it’s not just for news.

“RSS-aware programs called news aggregators are popular in the weblogging community. Many weblogs make content available in RSS. A news aggregator can help you keep up with all your favorite weblogs by checking their RSS feeds and displaying new items from each of them.”

I’m using FeedDemon (and will pay for it when the free trial runs out).  Go to the bottom of this page.  See the RSS 2.0 thing down there?  Click on that and it will show you the RSS feed link to my blog on AOL.

1 comment

Add Yours

Leave a Reply

