Newton’s 3rd Law of Motion

Barry Bonds didn’t know he was taking steroids.  And I didn’t know that the Starbucks pumpkin spice lattes I’ve had three days in a row are full of caffeine and sugar.  Man those things are good.  Even the color is intoxicating.  I keep saying I’m going to go cold turkey but the turkey’s red hot and on my back.  Or is that a monkey falling off the wagon.  I dunno.  I’m all mixed up.  You got your chocolate in my peanut butter!

Oh.  By the way, I am quite disappointed with the results of the election.  And I don’t mean the Ukrainian election either.  I’ve got a whole thing about the electronic voting machines but I’m not going to get into that now.  We are sheep, America (as if I were Bernie Mac).

Well, I need to at least justify the title of this blog in some vague, round-about way.

I’ll admit that I’m a little superstitious, but it’s superstition based on modern physics and the known laws of the universe.  It seems to me that the more we discover about the universe the more unification there is between the physical world, spirituality, the brain and the body.

Here’s what I’m getting at, though.  Life tests us.  Have you noticed that whenever you set your mind to break a habit that almost magically things start popping up out of nowhere to challenge you?  It seems like reality is almost conspiring against you sometimes, doesn’t it?  Maybe our minds just seek out the thing or the state we’re trying to avoid (I’m trying to avoid New Jersey).  Like, it’s an acting out of our own inner-conflict.

However loopy I may sound at the moment — BBQ ribs definitely do not sharpen the mind — when I think of these pitfalls and breakdowns as tests it puts things in perspective.  You start pushing on something and it pushes back on you.  You start pushing on life and life pushes back on you.  Forces come in pairs.

How do you accomplish anything if everything you push on pushes back on you?  Friction (and the other net forces). 

I guess the only thing to do is dig in and keep pushing.  Or try a different route.  That’s a good choice, too.

Leave a Reply

