Be Still My Beating Heart

Taking a chance on love??  Is that really the name of her CD?  Bah humbug!

I feel like writing.  Yet I have no idea what to write about.  I was in a political mood but after writing a few sentences I lost the inspiration.

A friend of mine in progressive Berkeley wants to have a friendly tete a tete (how do you spell that?) regarding some of my recent blog entries. I’m looking forward to that.  Maybe in the meanwhile I’ll amend one of the older entries.

But in the meanwhile, I went to the doctor today.  I’ve been having sensations in my chestal region.  Not pain exactly but something.  I picked the doctor that was a part of our work health plan and was close.  Long story short, he said everything was normal: pulse, blood pressure, cardiogram.  I got a copy of my cardiogram.  It’s neat.  It’s like my own personal seismograph. 

So I’m supposed to be fine.  I’m just going to assume that my atria and ventricles aren’t going to blow out like old, bald tires.  There were a number of other issues I wanted to discuss with him but … I didn’t.  Maybe next time.

Man, I can’t wait until the fitness room is open again.  I’m seriously atrophying here.  I can feel the sloth and fat trying to claim me.  Back, foul devils!  Back I say!  I can literally feel my muscles twitching.  I had a science teacher in high school who said that he was on the swim team when he was in high school.  So he was,like, super fit.  After the swim season was over he started feeling a flutter in his chest.  It scared him because he thought it was his heart.  He went to the doctor who told him that it was just his muscles breaking down from lack of use.

I think I’m experiencing something similar.  Gotta get back on it.  I just don’t want to run outside on concrete and in winter morning weather.  I see people doing it, though, so it must not be too bad.  Eh, we’ll see.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

