Girlyman

I went to a Target store in Glen Burnie on Sunday.  I was in the aisle looking at smoothie machines and a late teen or early 20’s guy — happened to be European American — walked down the aisle looking for something.  Something caught my eye as he walked by.  Something orange in his ears.  At first I thought he was wearing big orange earrings, but they were … what do you call them.  Rings in the ear lobe.  Like in native cultures you’d see on PBS.  You know what I’m talking about?  Like, there’s a hole in the ear lobe a little bigger in diameter than a quarter and it’s being stretched by a hoop.  I wish I could have seen my own expression.  All I could think of was how his ears are going to look in ten or twenty years.  Or forty years.  Oh well.  I guess all there is is now, especially when you’re immortally young.

I had a gig at Copra’s on Charles St. in Baltimore on Saturday night.  It was cool.  No drummer, though.  I always miss it when there’s no drummer but after I got warmed up we were rockin’.  Well, it wasn’t rock.  It was jazz but you know what I mean.

Last night, Sunday, I went to Jammin’ Java in Vienna, VA and saw Girlyman.  It was a CD release party for their latest called “Little Star”.  Man, they were great.  They’re kind of a semi-acoustic folk, three-part harmony … I don’t know how to describe it.  Check out their website or iTunes.  I’m always amazed by how much music three people can make (or one or two but in this case it happens to be three).  They’re going on tour for the next two months or so.  If they’re in your area check ’em out.

Leave a Reply

