So Much Gay. Music. Happy Birthday. – Gary Young MySpace Blog

INTERNATIONAL GARY APPRECIATION MONTH

You know how sometimes you know something but you forget that you know it. I knew that guacamole goes all funny on you pretty quickly. And yet I put some in the fridge with the intent of eating it later. Two days later. Yes, it was brown and slimy, which added a bold, aromatic flavor. Actually, I didn’t eat it. I ain’t no fool. Maybe in my younger 5-day-old-unrefrigerated-stromboli days but not now, being so keenly aware of my own mortality.

March 2nd is/was my birthday. I turned 34 on Thursday. Thirty four times around the sun. Thirty four and counting. Seriously counting. Tickin’ away. Tick tock tick tock. I treated myself to a workout and the gift of health. Well, a workout’s worth of health.

I bought a bottle of Hydroxycut yesterday. I’m going to give it a shot and see how it goes while keeping an eye out for side effects. Maybe I should have taken my blood pressure beforehand to be safe. I figure that I’ve got to get it in gear on this fitness thing. Once you get into your late 20’s and early 30’s it gets easier and easier to put on weight and much harder to take it off. If I don’t start making some ground now I never will. I refuse to keep gaining five to ten pounds every year. So while I can still fit through doorways … it’s time. I can feel some of the effects of the Hydroxycut. A little more perky than usual. We’ll see how I sleep tonight.

SO MUCH GAY

Man. There sure is a lot of gay going on. TV shows, movies, music, news, etc. Everywhere you turn there’s something queer happening. And I mean “queer” as in “Queer Eye for the Straight Guy” or “Queer as Folk.”

I think sexuality is a spectrum. I don’t think people are born gay and I don’t believe that sexual orientation is a choice. All these politics regarding sexuality are so … well, gay. And I mean that in the non-sexual orientation, generic put-down sense of the word.

I watched “Bad Education” this weekend. Good grief. That was depressing, disturbing, disheartening and other adjectives, some of which don’t even begin with the letter “d”. The cinematography was beautiful and the music was really well done, too. But I have to say that I’m tired of these coming of age stories. This one was kind of a coming of age scenario within a flashback within a story about the story kind of … thing. And it was quite gay. And I mean gay in the graphically portrayed NC-17 gay sex scene sense of the word. I don’t think any amount of therapy in the world will help me deal with that tranvestite with the boob job. Oy gevalt.

Maybe this is why people prefer Will & Grace gayness. It’s not threatening or confrontational and is the kind of gay the whole family can enjoy. Catty, effete, clean cut. Kind of the equivalent of tap dancing black people on TV in the 50’s. “Oh look, they’re smiling and dancing. Those negroes are so happy!”

I’d like to think that somewhere between the extremes, the true picture lies. Then again, I’d rather watch those two African American tap dancing brothers from the olden days than Melvin Van Peeble’s “Sweet Sweetback’s Baaadaaaaasss Song”. Anyday. But it’s a little too much gayness the same way as I’m annoyed seeing rappers everywhere. It’s the latest marketing gimmick as well as a societal shift.

Oh. Now I’m completely distracted by the preview for X-Men III. Man, it looks good. I refuse to get my hopes up, though.

Edgar! Noooo! Damn you, writers of 24!

MORE THAN MUSIC

Busy weekend. On Saturday night I saw the Jamie Baum Septet at Andie Musik in Baltimore (on Charles St.). She’s a flute player. It was challenging for sure. It reminded me of Dave Holland’s quintet. It was kind of funny because she looked like she could have been a public school library clerk. Very pert and proper, kind of shy. But her music was deep, dissonant and intricate. I went to hang out with Todd Marcus. He was chatting with the musicians while I played the deaf mute as I often do in social situations, especially when I’m tired. Todd was talking to Doug Yates, a sax and bass clarinetist, and Doug said something really interesting that sent my brain into a tangential tailspin.

It was about the way people hear music — or how they hear the world — and the music they make. What they hear music in. Have you ever been to New York City? If you’ve ever spent a day or two in New York, it’s overwhelming how much is going on. You never know what’s gong to happen next. The sounds, colors and movement are chaotic, dissonant, conflicting. It’s brutal to the senses and yet when people get used to it they tune it out to background noise. Any place else seems boring, slow and quiet in comparison.

So after hearing that conversation the dissonant unresolving tension and constant counter movement made sense. Even Jamie Baum’s song about a river near her parents’ home was all movement and layers and dissonance.

In contrast, check out Brian Blade’s and his band’s “Perceptual” and “Fellowship”. Brian wrote some of those tunes while spending time in the Mojave desert, if I remember correctly. It’s open, airy, expansive and majestic.

The music says a lot about the musician and where their head is. Where their home is, in a sense.

I’ve got to find a way to make a living off of this music thing. Or at least take it to the streets.

Currently watching :
Bad Education (R-Rated Edition)
Release date: By 12 April, 2005

Leave a Reply

