Empathy & Liar – Gary Young MySpace Blog

Argh! Myspace is having technical difficulties with my mp3 for Empathy. Get it together, y’all. But I’ll have it up ASAP. Unfortunately, I have no control over the ASAPness. And my apologies to Kirill Mel for deleting “Howl” and having nothing to show for it.

Now this is what I’m talking about. I was driving home from work, south on the GW Parkway. Looking at the water. Some thoughts that have been percolating for a few days began to turn into something. Lyrics began to form. I came home, picked up the acoustic and started strumming. But even before I got home it started to come together.

I had to fix some things in Liar but at the same time I was doing that the lyrics for “Empathy” were coming to mind and a few minutes later I had the lyrics and a little bit after that, the music. And I got it all together. I mean, it’s late, but still. A decent tune from idea to myspace and iPod in one night. (But man, my speakers suck.)

Now, if only I had some control over these friggin’ vocal cords! Argh! (a la Charlie Brown)

The lyrics to “Empathy” say everything that needs to be said. If it speaks to you … well then you’re so vain you probably think this song is about you. And maybe it is. Whatever the case, I understand.

Liar

Theres’s some smut on my TV right now. A woman is having an affair with some dude and trying to get some business out of it. I’ve been thinking about infidelity a lot lately. Ugh. Whoops. He just got busted by the cell phone call.

No one else seems to give a s— about these things. I swear sometimes I feel like I don’t belong on this planet. People ignore it, cover it up, encourage it, facilitate it. Everything but confront it.

Yeh, I know. Cheer up, emo kid.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been on the bad end of it. And you know what the worst experience of my life is? Well, you know what I mean. Being woken up at 3am by the sounds of someone you love, respect and have the hots for screwing some dude who is totally not worthy. And then later being in the vicinity of those people and their respective boyfriend/girlfriend while everyone around does an amazing job at playing ignorant. Sigh.

People suck, apparently. I mean, I understand. Even the earth shifts, quakes and upheaves. It’s just an ugly process.

Man, if it weren’t for being able to make music … I don’t know what I’d do. Maybe be a raging alcoholic. Or chocoholic. I had some chocolate truffles today that were pretty amazing.

Although, I would testify in court that I got a buzz off of Olive Garden’s alfredo sauce on Tuesday night. That stuff was rockin’! Anything with heavy cream in it, I’m a fan of.

Man, I like this “Empathy” song. I wonder. When people listen to this stuff … do they enjoy it as much as I do? Overall, I mean, aside from the fact that the vocals are a little dodgy. Does it move you? Do you feel an urge to listen multiple times? Would you buy it if it were a CD? If you heard it playing on the radio would it catch your ear? Would they dig it in the EU or Japan?

Shazam, it’s late! I’m sure I’ll regret posting this blog. But right now I don’t give a hoot. Watch me pollute.

Back to Empathy (Addendum 5/18/2006 11:40pm)
I was listening to the rough version of Empathy all day today and I heard something. I heard the lyrics of the chorus in a way that I didn’t intend and they still made sense.

Everybody’s alright
And everybody’s okay
But at the end of the day
They all just want a piece of you
Not the whole you

Even the first and second halves, you mix and match and it still all makes sense. It tells a slightly different story depending on how you hear it. But it all still applies and I still understand.

Leave a Reply

