Perimeter – Myspace Blogs

I need your help. Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears.

I’ve been listening to a lot of modern rock lately, in case you couldn’t tell. I bought some of my favorite songs ever on iTunes. Hunted them down. Along with the “positive tension” I’ve had with my music — being without my portable music collection — it’s been fueling the fire.

It has been a little frustrating because all these rock guys have powerful, gritty voices and the hooks are a few whole tones above my range, such as it is. But that’s where you need to be for open chord, guitar-friendly keys. Grrrr. So I’ve been trying to sing along with these things and it’s ugly.

Anyway, I had some time today as I try to take care of insurance, claims and car rental logistics. I’m very self-conscious about trying to sing out, but all of my neighbors are at work (so I thought). What the hell, y’know. So I just cranked some air through the cords. I reached the F# and it’s alright, I guess. Some day I’ll have some pipes.

I’m getting ahead of myself here. I sat down last week and finally got around to playing with the RC-50, Loop Station of the gods. So last weekend, I had the basic workings for two new songs with their foundations saved and available for more experimentation within a few hours.

I thought I was done with the whole Anteros theme but when I wrote the lyrics to the new songs I realized it was still the same thing. A broader view, maybe. They both fall under the “connection” theme, which is what Anteros is all about, really. Unrequited connection, specifically. With others, with ourselves, with our environment, with our spirituality, life and death.

“Perimeter” is about the first and second items in that list. Or the necessity of reconciling the second in order to achieve the first. Yada yada yada.

I have no idea how the mix is on this one, though. I mean, I can’t hear it well enough to fine tune it. I used to put the mp3 on the iPod and sit in the car and listen, but since I lost my iPod and my car is at the body shop waiting for a claims adjuster and damage estimate … well, I need a Plan B.

So, when you get a chance, America, please have a listen. Feedback is appreciated and will help me make improvements.

Leave a Reply

