Tuesday & Tuesday Too – Gary Young MySpace Blog

So in the hotel room last weekend, which seems like it was months ago, I had my guitar, right.  After the Brian Blade Fellowship show.  Messing around with some chords.  A few nights later, I sat down at the ‘puter and recorded some ideas.  Saving the file, I needed to call it something.  “Tuesday” because it was Tuesday night and I’ve had a fragment of song lyric in my head for a few months that would go something like, “It’s only Tuesday….”.

The thing I recorded was kind of crappy, but there were some interesting ideas and textures, I think.  Anyway, Tim sent me something that he put together using his sampler skills.  Very nice stuff.  Inspired to make something, I picked out some chords at the keyboard (controller) and the short song “Tuesday Too” eventually came out.  I cheated on the electric piano solo, by the way.  I can’t play that fast.  Go go, gadget MIDI. That was Saturday, I think.

FL Studio 7 was announced this weekend so I upgraded to that and then got to work.  I figured out how to get around that annoying issue with the Bosendorfer plug-in not rendering sustain correctly in FL Studio.  The plug-in folks told me that they don’t test on FL Studio so I was on my own.  Oh well.  The trick is to let the wav/mp3 file render in the background.  It takes longer but it gets it right.

Boredom must be the mother of Creativity because today I expanded on “Tuesday Too” to the full-blown “Tuesday”.

  1. Tuesday Too
  2. Tuesday

I had a conversation with my cousin once about Alicia Keys.  A friend had just given me the CD.  i said something to the effect of, “I like Alicia Keys but her stuff is all romance, relationship love song R&B.  I wish she’d do something more.”

When I say that I’m thinking along the lines of Curtis Mayfield, Marvin Gaye, Eddie Kendricks, The Temptations, etc. Heck, Ben Harper, Pat Boone.  Okay, maybe not Pat Boone.  I mean, they all did their R&B thing, but they made some amazing politically oriented music, too.  For the past year and a half not only has my music been — well, not only has it been relationship-oriented, it’s been lack of relationship-oriented.  I don’t know if that’s better or worse in my mind but I do recognize the irony.

I don’t know where the heck the lyrics for “Tuesday” came from, but I could imagine Odd Thomas and Stormy having a conversation like that.

I’m sure the mix is way off.  Haven’t done the Jeep test yet.  And I could stand to redo some parts or clean up a few things.  I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

Most of my music has been coming out much more mellow than I mean for it to.  You can’t fight it but I tried to tap into some fresh reserves.  Kind of funny that when I want to do something upbeat, I play a dirge and let it ride over phat beats.
Speaking of lack of relationships, in an effort to get my finances together I called last week to cancel my TRUE membership.  I had joined a long time ago even before the annoying and misleading ad assault on myspace.  Then at some point I decided I wanted to contact people so I became a paying member.  It’s expensive.  I didn’t realize how much I’d been paying all this time so I called to cancel.  Of course, “Amanda” at customer support talked me out of it with x number of free months and an email alert regarding when it will start to cost money again so I can cancel.  She made some good points and told me that I didn’t have a headline or any text about myself (which I know I did at some point) and that I had a good profile and good pictures and that if I filled out the rest of the info I’d be sure to have a very different experience.  She told me that they had 40,000 new members sign up on the previous day.  When she reminded me that I was trying to cancel my personals membership on Valentine’s Day morning … doh!  I was embarrassed.  Didn’t even realize.  Now that’s irony.

Yes, my scarlet letter is an “L”.

Oh.  It’s time to watch 24.  Good night, America.

comments

Currently reading :
Brother Odd (Odd Thomas Novels)
By Dean Koontz
Release date: By 28 November, 2006

2:32 PM – 3 Comments – 2 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

Janna Mordan

Nice stuff G-
You got some mad songwriting skillz 😉
I love it.

Posted by Janna Mordan on Feb 19, 2007 10:55 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Gary Young

Okay.  Five or six re-uploads later.  I think I’m done, though.  Took out some of my sloppy-ass piano playing and lowered the levels on the remaining sloppy piano playing.  Aligned the bass of the D&B beat with the bass line.  Compressed the master channel and boosted the levels and the highs slightly to compensate.  And so on.

I’m figuring it out as I go along.

Posted by Gary Young on Feb 21, 2007 8:35 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Gary Young

Okay.  Now I’m done.

Posted by Gary Young on Feb 26, 2007 8:10 AM

Leave a Reply

