Scooter – Gary Young MySpace Blog

Scooter
Category: News and Politics

So.  Scooter Libby’s jail time was commuted by Pres. Bush.

OFF THE BEATEN PATH:  I DIGRESS
By the way, President Bush?  Worst.  President.  Ever.  I try to be fair.  I do.  And I make an effort to avoid name-calling.  Being the elected (ahem) leader of the wealthiest most powerful country on the planet must be a huge, stressful, life-draining burden.  I would guess that it’s not worth all the free helicopter rides.

I don’t really trust anyone who wants the job.  What kind of person thinks to themselves, “I’m what this country needs right now.”

Or even worse in a way is, “You know what this country needs right now?  Me and my friends.”

Worst of all:  “You know what this country needs right now?  Me and my father’s old friends.”

I know life is rarely simple except for the fact that we’re born and we die.  Womb to tomb.  Sperm to worm.  But you know what I think about when I think of this administration?  The thing that sums it up for me is this:  The richest members of society get tax breaks, shifting the load of taxes on the weakened, indebted middle class.  Meanwhile, middle class and poor mothers and wives were spending their own money to buy bullet-resistant armor for their husbands and sons who are fighting in Iraq.

Well, that and Michael Brown, one of the many appointees whose qualification for the job was loyalty to the administration.

SCOOTER
I was thinking that Scooter Libby would be pardoned at the end of the Bush presidency.  You know?  But I guess Scooter would have already been serving time by then.  Bush commuted the sentence before Libby set foot in a prison.  Hmmmm.

This just looks bad.  Is Bush rewarding Libby for something?  This is cynical of me to say, but is he buying Libby’s silence and loyalty?  More likely that they’re just taking care of their own like they always do.

I would like to point this out, though.  Don’t buy the spin.

On the July 5 broadcast of his nationally syndicated radio show, while discussing President Bush’s commutation of former vice presidential chief of staff I. Lewis “Scooter” Libby’s jail sentence, Neal Boortz falsely claimed that “Scooter Libby and Bill Clinton got sentenced and convicted for exactly the same crime.”

“As Media Matters for America has previously noted, Clinton was not indicted on criminal charges of perjury by independent counsel Robert Ray or his predecessor, Kenneth Starr.  By contrast, a federal jury convicted Libby on four counts of perjury, obstruction of justice, and making false statements. U.S. District Judge Reggie B. Walton subsequently sentenced him to 30 months in federal prison.”

Currently reading :
Thirteen
By Richard K. Morgan
Release date: By 26 June, 2007

1:54 PM – 1 Comments – 2 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

Tony

The worst part about it all is that the media would rather talk about Paris Hilton. Bush essentially says, “You know what? Screw you… anyone in my administration can flaunt the law in any way they want, and I’ll make sure they don’t have to pay for it. This is MY country, and there’s nothing you peons can do about it.” The media’s response? “Paris Hilton is rethinking her hard partying lifestyle after her 23 days in prison.” Um… huh?! Here we have one of the most ridiculous outright abuses of executive power in recent memory, and they’re talking about this good-for-nothing bimbo?! I mean, I know that the rest of their programming has to appeal to the lowest common denominator to keep the network execs happy, but can we PLEASE have some actual news in our news? Could we keep ONE thing “highbrow”? [sigh] I suppose it’s too much to ask.

Posted by Tony on Jul 6, 2007 6:28 AM

Leave a Reply

