The Moderate Voice – Gary Young MySpace Blog

The Moderate Voice

“Welcome to the world of gentlemen, gentlemen.”

For some reason, I like that Cadillac commercial.  Go figure.

BE STILL MY BEATING HEART
There is joy in my heart. That would explain the clogged feeling, but nonetheless it is joy.  Could it be that I’ve found true love?  That I’ve found what I’m looking for?  Someone who feels for me how I feel about them?  (Or “her”, would be a more accurate pronoun.)

No.  Couldn’t be.  It’s a Famous Dave’s!  They’re building a famous Dave’s in Beacon Hill Shopping Center.  Outback, TGIF, Chevy’s, Ruby Tuesday, Chipotle, Chevy’s, Chili’s, Panera Bread, Chevy’s and now a Famous Dave’s.  All on the Rt 1 strip.  To those who are about to rock.  I salute you and hand you wet naps.  For my Bay Area friends, Famous Dave’s is this area’s equivalent of Armadillo Willy’s.

ARE YOU SCARED YET?
Have you noticed that in the news they’re talking up fears of terrorism?  I mean, aside from Secretary of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff (and his “bad feeling”) who says, “We are entering a period of increased vulnerability.”

And check out  News Channel 8 (an affiliate of ABC):  “Tonight ABC News is reporting there are several credible reports of an Al Qaeda terrorist cell that’s either on its way to the United States or is already here.”

Is that vague and scary enough to boost the President’s approval rating?  Don’t question the President and his administration at this time?  F. U.  There’s enough stuff to be scared of in this world and enough people who want to blow us up or gas us or who knows what without publicizing some vague threat for what I am sure is political convenience.

I mean, seriously, what are we, the public, supposed to do with information like that?  Nothing.  There’s nothing you can do except go shopping or watch a Panda Bear web cam.

There’s a reason why I’m/we’re cynical about our political leaders.  This is it.  I can’t even keep up with all the crazy political stuff going on but here’s a great site that has a variety of opinions and is informative and often fun:

http://themoderatevoice.com/

Enjoy.

INTERWORLD by Neil Gaiman and Michael Reaves
I read — any time I say I read a book I usually mean that I listened to it — Interworld.  It’s a short novel for kids.  It’s definitely written at a kid level and you can kind of tell that it was originally intended for a screen of some kind.  TV, I think.

It’s the story of Joey Harker, an extremely ordinary teenager who realizes that he’s an extra-ordinary person.  He’s a Walker.  His boringly normal life is changed forever when he inadvertently walks into an alternate dimension.

This book is full of science, magic and imagination.  It’s kind of mind-blowing.  There are wizards, aliens, a character with transparent skin, a character with magic tattoos, a winged girl, a dog girl, a bird girl, a cyborg, a Far East mystic, a juggnernaut, realities between realities, and even a sentient multi-dimensional bubble that speaks in colors.

The only thing missing for me?  A single black person.  How much imagination does it take for a black person to exist in the infinite possibilities of the Alterverse or Multiverse?  Come on, already!

THE GOLDEN COMPASS
By the way, that reminds me.  “The Golden Compass” by Phillip Pullman is a brilliant book and the movie trailers look amazing.  The second book in the series, “The Subtle Knife” was pretty good for most of it and I was still hanging in there.  You know.  A gay angel couple?  Ooookay, I’ll roll with it.  The third book, “The Amber Spyglass” was … well, it was kind of bad.

There were blatant inconsistencies with the first two books.  Say, Mr. Pullman, I thought you said dust particles were what we called angels?  Oh, not anymore?  Now they’re winged anthropomorphs?  Sure.  I’ll go with that. No, it’s cool.  Let’s keep going.

The motives of certain characters inverts for no apparent reason. Pullman is an atheist and yet I found the “The Subtle Knife” to be preachy.  There’s an overall tone of anger, a loooooong digression into the evolution of a sentient quadripedal society, and an ending that’s intentionally, ultimately final.  And did those kids have sex?  Did I … am I reading something into that scene that’s not there?

I get that he’s providing a fantasy adventure that is intended to NOT espouse world views like that of J.R.R. Tolkien  or C.S. Lewis.  In other words, without Judeo Christian symbology.

Two thumbs up for the first book.  Two quivering, slowly rotating thumbs for the second.  Two thumbs rhythmically pointing downward for the third.

This is not to say that the trilogy isn’t worth reading.  Go for it.  It’s brilliant and then it’s challenging.  He’s a better and more accomplished writer than I’ll ever be.  Have you read what I have of “O-World” so far?  If you have, you know what I mean.

Two questions:
1. Why are all of these great writers British?
2. Why are so many writers’ lives apparently devoid of minorities?  Fellow wannabe writers, there’s a huge market out there of people whose lives are heterogenous.

LAST BUT NOT LEAST
I spend a lot of blog time complaining in one way or another.  That bothers me.  Even if I occasionally manage erudition I don’t want to leave a negative taste in your brain.  I want you to feel either informed or entertained or … something.  Therefore, I want to end on a positive or funny note.

Unfortunately, that’s not going to happen tonight because I just read an article saying that widows in India are kicked out of their houses by their sons/families and end up living on the streets.  Culturally, they’re not allowed to be attractive so they’re supposed to shave their hair and wear white and then find some way to survive until they grow old and die.

Come on, people.  Let’s pick up the pace.  It’s the 21st century.  Progress.  No more stoning young girls, no more female genital mutilation, no more homeless widows, no more forced abortions, no more attacking women from behind with plastic grocery bags, no selling women as sex slaves, no more raping and murdering as if women are disposable objects of gratification.

We can do this.

“The true worth of a race must be measured by the character of its womanhood.”

– Mary Mcleod Bethune

Currently reading :
InterWorld
By Neil Gaiman
Release date: By 26 June, 2007

3:07 PM – 2 Comments – 0 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

Brynnjynnsynn

Damnit Gary! I was totally excited and then all it is is some BBQ joindt?!? How rude! 😛

Posted by Brynnjynnsynn on Jul 12, 2007 6:22 AM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Gary Young

aaaaACTING! Genius! Thank yooouuu!

Posted by Gary Young on Jul 12, 2007 6:40 AM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Leave a Reply

