Insinuendo – Gary Young MySpace Blog

“Insinuendo”
Category: Music

This song has been sitting around for almost a year now.  On the way from  Baltimore last night I listened to the songs that I could never get right or find lyrics to.  On this one, lyrics weren’t the problem (yes, music is my therapy).  It was the delivery, which is still a problem.

So I gave this one another go and cleaned it up a little in Sonar.  I haven’t done the Jeep test so I can’t guarantee the mix is good.  There’s a lot going on at the end, which is a habit of mine for better and for worse.

HOW NOT TO RECORD VOCALS
Man.  If you’ve ever recorded music and then listened to tracks in isolation you know how brutal it can be to the senses.  Breathing noises, mouth noises.  I’m picking up the computer humming, heater coming on, refrigerator humming, floor creaking, chair squeaking.  You name it.  Not to mention semi-atonal harmonies.  Hahaaa.

Oh well.  What can you do, huh.

I’m just glad I got to work the music thing tonight.  It feels good.  Score one for the home team.

Leave a Reply

