The New Year Project: The Portable Lab – Gary Young MySpace Blog

The New Year Project: “The Portable Lab” or “Studio G goes mobile”

I’ve been asking people if they have New Year’s resolutions.  Most of them say no.  Like I said, I’ve got some goals/projects for 2008.  Collaboration is the word bouncing around in my head.

So I ask myself, how can I get this off the ground?  My apartment isn’t conducive to recording and I live kind of out of the way.  You know how it goes.  The more reasonable the rent, the farther away from the happening spots you are.  I’ve even offered musican friends money on occasion to come record some music with me but to no avail.  What can I do.  What if … what if I could go out and record?

I looked online at portable recorders: Zoom, Edirol and such.  They had some very cool stuff but lacking the control I need.  I figured a laptop is the way to go.

I splurged a little and bought an HP.  I actually chickened out for a few days but I plunged in today.  This will be my portable recording studio.

To my musician friends I say, wanna jam?  Let’s lay down some tracks for the heck of it.  The possibilities are endless.  To my remote musician friends, let’s send wav files back and forth.  Pick a tempo, send a riff.  It may work.  It may not.  Either way’s fine with me.

Let’s do this thang!

2:27 PM – 3 Comments – 0 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

Tim Bulkley

145 bpms – ready…….go!

Posted by Tim Bulkley on Jan 5, 2008 10:11 AM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Eddie Fuentes

dude whenever you have time. i have time and i’d love to jam and lay down something sweet

Posted by Eddie Fuentes on Jan 6, 2008 6:21 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

MOON

My daughter’s father has done this– he has a Gateway laptop with protools…I couldn’t even begin to tell you all the things he has to make it possible, but he is able to come to my place with his equipment, fit nicely in a backpack…let me know if you want me to ask him anything. We still have to go to the Channel Inn together so you can jam. I haven’t forgotten!

Posted by MOON on Jan 7, 2008 10:55 PM

Leave a Reply

