36 – Gary Young MySpace Blog

36

I am 432 months old.

We turn the clocks forward this weekend.  Can you believe that?

The echocardiogram tech left a message this morning.  The preliminary results say my heart is functioning normally.  I forgot to mention that he also showed me the measurements and dimensions of my heart.  I didn’t understand the numbers but when I get the records I’ll do some research.

When I think of 36 I think, “Uh oh.  No one searches for a 36 year old on personals sites.  35 is the common cutoff.”

HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO ME
I have a birthday tradition.  Create something.  It could be a poem, lyrics, a song, a story.  Anything.  On Sunday, March 2nd of 2008, it was “Reverie”.

Years ago I would celebrate by getting a favorite food and chowing down while I watched a favorite TV show or movie.  One year I got a Pizza Hut Meat Lover’s pizza.  I used to do that and eat more than half in one sitting.  That year, 2001?, I got some kind of food poisoning from it and was sick as a dog for a few days after.  I was chronically unemployed at the time, I remember.  It was not a good birthday.

I had an epiphany somewhere between feverish perspiration, vomiting and other violent expulsions.  If I’m going to celebrate my birthday, I should celebrate by doing something life affirming and not life attenuating.  You know.  Work out or eat something healthy or something.

This year, the ER experience was not planned, of course, but it was a good present to myself.  I finally got some more thorough testing done.  Bloodwork, EKG, fresh oxygen, monitoring, stress test, echocardiogram tour of my heart.  Recently took a course of anti-biotic.  Went to the dentist.  Speaking of which…

DENTAL
I went to the dentist today and got some fillings done.  Part one of a two part series.  I forgot that fillings = drilling.  First time for me.  Um.  I thought I said no more needles! I’m not really looking forward to more tooth drilling.  But again, not bad considering it’s been slightly less than 20 years since I’ve been to a dentist.  I got to see X-rays of my teeth!  My toofus!

Clouds of charred bone waft
Rains down on my tongue, I taste
Numb to the drill’s bite

Man.  When you’ve only got five or seven syllables it seems like a waste to use prepositions and articles: of, the, a, to.  Anyway, next comes the eye doctor.

Year 36 begins.  It’s time to reclaim my health.  Join me, won’t you?


QUESTION OF THE DAY
Oh.  By the way, do you think I should try contacts?  Every time I consider it someone has a dissuading story for me.

Currently listening :
A&E
By Goldfrapp
Release date: By 12 February, 2008

2:15 PM – 3 Comments – 2 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

Shell

Actually, aren’t you starting year 37? It’s an argument I get into with friends. “So, was the year 2000 the end of the century/millenium, or was 1999?” You know those types of deep questions about time… lol!!! You’ve turned 36, but it’s actually the start of your 37th year…

Leave it to a science geek to get into the deep ‘time’ issues… lol!

I will join you in the quest for better health! I’m glad your echo came back normal. It’s good to have a baseline, especially as we approach 40 (yippee, can’t wait!!!).

P.S. Love the haiku, but you’re right… we can definitely do better than lines filled with prepositions. :o)

Posted by Shell on Mar 6, 2008 6:30 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Gary Young

Thank ya for the words, Ms. ‘Shell.

Hey, you’re lucky I didn’t totally break with reality and write “Year 23 begins!”. Oh, if I knew then what I know now. Sigh.

a of the to an

Posted by Gary Young on Mar 6, 2008 6:37 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Gary Young

Oh. And not quite numb enough to the drill’s bite. Ay caramba.

Posted by Gary Young on Mar 6, 2008 6:38 PM

Leave a Reply

