10,000 (Steps) – Gary Young MySpace Blog

10,000 (Steps)
Category: Goals, Plans, Hopes

I’m attempting to do the 10,000 steps a day thing.  Got the pedometer and all that business.  Um.  10,000 steps is a LOT of steppin’, lemme tell you.

Sunday
I started keeping track on Sunday.  I essentially do nothing on Sundays.  Went shopping for birthday presents and cards at Target at White Marsh.  2,500 steps.

Monday I worked
The walking to the train and what not.  I didn’t do anything out of the ordinary because I wanted to see what my normal routine is like.  5,000 steps.

Tuesday
I figured I was going to put some oomph into it.  Took a random walk at lunch and walked two metro steps further down the line on the way home.  Good for me, right.  6,500 steps.  Only 6,500?!

Then I realized that it’s pretty dang hard to walk 10,000 steps a day.  Approximately 2,000 steps per mile.  That’s 5 miles a day.  I even saw a site citing research that says 12,000 is the magic number for maintaining weight.  But every step counts.  Walking to and from the restroom, walking up the escalator instead of riding, walking to a co-worker’s desk instead of emailing, taking the trash out.

Wednesday
Went to Teaism with a co-worker.  That’s a mile round-trip.  Good stuff.  Did an afternoon walk.  Walked down to L’Enfant again.  Took the metro to Clarendon because I went to a UI talk hosted by UPA.  Got a little lost on foot trying to find the place.  Stopped at Hard Time Cafe for take out on the way back.  Blah blah blah.  11,500 steps.

Thursday
Today.  Not enough walking during the day.  I only had about 1,900 steps when I left work.  So I walked down to L’Enfant again and then along the National Mall for a bit.  Walked to the Washington Monument and wandered around a little bit before heading back to L’Enfant.  Walking to the car from the train.  About 6,500 steps again.

2.5 miles short.  Now I’m trying to think of ways and excuses to get more steps in.  Long way to go.

Personal trainers are kind of beyond my budget for now.  A trainer that will come to your home — the one I saw I found via the web — was $85 an hour.  Or was it $65.  That’s more than a gym membership.  Even if I did it once a week that would be over $320 a month.  That’s a car payment.

Walkin’ don’t cost ya nothin’.

Currently listening :
Bleeding Love
By Leona Lewis
Release date: By 14 January, 2008

3:51 PM – 2 Comments – 2 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

Brynnjynnsynn

Yay for steps!! 🙂

Now you get it. See?

Posted by Brynnjynnsynn on Mar 14, 2008 5:32 AM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Gary Young

I get it. I do. It’s hard. Dang.

I’m glad the weather’s been nice. I guess I have to have a contingency plan for Mid-Atlantic weather, huh.

Posted by Gary Young on Mar 14, 2008 10:15 PM

Leave a Reply

