New song: Wind Chaser – Gary Young MySpace Blog

New song: “Wind Chaser”
Category: Music

I spent Saturday in Clarendon (in Arlington) on Saturday.  I hung out with the Keevers.  And they helped me get about 8,300 steps.  Not too shabby.  Cute little baby, too.  Good luck to them when he starts walking.

Chris and I jammed for a bit and played around with Mobile Studio G.  Conclusion: I need to upgrade my audio interface again.  I mean, to really do what I want, which is record multiple live, stereo tracks.  If I can sell some of my stuff — the older and not so older audio interfaces — that would help a lot.

Anyway, so this is what we came up with.  We jammed a little bit, improvisationally.  Chris laid down two drum tracks.  I laid down the guitar comping.  At home, post-production and more layers.  Maybe too many.  I’m sure the mix is all over the place.  I’m not the best mixer.  And for the life of me I still can’t figure out how to get my tracks as crystal clear as the stuff you buy on a CD or off of iTunes.

WIND CATCHER
Every once in a while I meet someone who is elemental.  They’re like a force of nature.  The embodiment of something.  You know, those people, when you think about them you get a visceral feeling.  Or, like, they leave an impression like that feeling you get when you recall a day you spent on the beach at high tide at a particularly moving sunset or when you stood at the top of a long hike overlooking a valley.

They’re always fleeting.  On the move, on the go, off to something new.  They’re usually not in one place too long.  Not to be claimed, tamed, held back, held down.

For some reason, the music reminded me of 1. Brian Blade Fellowship and 2. my Landmark Forum buddy, LK.  She’s literally a wind chaser.

If you read this… Hi.

REMIXING
Damn it.  I just listened to a professionally recorded song and the mix/level quality blows this out of the water.  Gonna see if I can improve this a bit.

Leave a Reply

