My Guitar Voice

I am excited.  Why is this text red?  One sec.

Okay, now it’s blue. Okay, that’s better.  So yeh.  I’m excited.  Sexually speaking.  No, I’m kidding.  I’m musically excited.

I had a run of bad tech luck this week.  I bought a new external hard drive to back up my old external hard drive and when I plugged the new one in, it somehow clobbered the old one, which happened to have most of my musical compositions and source files on it.

DTI gave me a price quote of about $1200 to retrieve the data off of it.  I don’t know if all the files on there are worth that much.  Of course, I’m not exactly sure which important files are now in limbo.

Anyway, I can always make more music, I suppose.  And somehow that translates to spending some money.  I got a few MIDI cables and the M-Audio FastTrack Ultra. I really should sell the other two audio inputs I have (each a step up from the last).  Anybody interested?

The Voice

For the longest time now I’ve been wanting to have another guitar voice.  Sure, it’s kind of gimmicky, but I wanted something that would provide a little punch, a little more depth of sound.  So I’m hooked up to the computer controlling some soft synths via the GR-20 via the FastTrack Ultra.

It’s pretty sweet.  I can also blend, say, the guitar and Fender Rhodes sounds.  Very rich.  It’s hard, though.  MIDI picks up every little pull off and otherwise inconsequential note so for the organ in particular it takes a very clean, light touch.  I do not have a clean, light touch.  I’m very rusty and have the finger dexterity of a hooved animal.

But still, I’m diggin’ it and it opens up a lot of possibilities.  Worse come to worse, I can always clean up and quantize the MIDI data if need be.  Ain’t no shame in my game.

I’ll get it together, though.  So many options.

So now when we’re jamming, I’ve got this new audio input that has six inputs.  Or is it four?  Either way, that means stereo input from the e-kit, Chris K., plus stereo input from the guitar, plus the MIDI signal.  It’s on!

Experiment 1

Anywho, I was putzing around tonight and laid this down.  Just a short little experiment.

The drums are from the Studio Kit plug-in.  I couldn’t figure out how to transpose my MIDI signal so I couldn’t try to lay it down myself, but that’s probably for the best.

I’ll see you on Indaba Music soon.

Leave a Reply

