The Road to Looking Good Naked (Pt. 2)

Click here to see all of my LGN (I want to Look Good Naked) posts.

Ladies and germs,

One more thing about this topic.  Well, a few more things.

Walking three miles only burns 267 calories?!?!   That’s just not fair, especially when, say, one grande Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte is 380 calories (70 of those from whipped cream).

Common wisdom is that the key to losing weight — there is no “easy” or lazy way — is to burn more calories than you eat, exercise, and to keep a log of some kind, which is a good segue to my recommendation.

Recommendation: iPhone App – “Lose It!

But the main reason for this blog entry is that I found a gadget.  I like gadgets.  This one is a software gadget and it’s free.

Pros

  • Looks good.
  • Mostly easy to use.
  • Enter in where you are and where you want to be and it calculates your daily calorie budget.
  • Allows you to enter foods and nutrition values.

Cons

  • The brand foods section isn’t very extensive.
  • Currently, there’s no way to email or export the info.
  • Not sure what happens when it comes time to update the app.  How will I make sure my info is safe?

Here are screenshots from the website.   Heck.  I wish it were mine.  It’s been a long time since I’ve seen 174.

How to Gain Weight Pt. 2

So aside from drinking a few glasses of alcohol (hundreds of extra nearly empty calories) directly before bedtime, I’ve discovered another way to efficiently gain excess weight.

Eat fast food! You know my favorite restaurant is Chevy’s.  Mainly for the salsa.  So on the way from the Cherry Blossom Festival I stopped at Chevy’s in Pentagon City.  According to “Lost It!” I had about 1,900 calories remaining for the day.  Cool!

I orderd a Corona and the Crispy Flautas.  The Corona was fine.  The entree?  1,400 calories.  I’m still not sure if that included the rice and beans.  And over 3,000 mg of sodium.   Note that the RDA for sodium is 2400 mg.

So after that meal I was either at or a few hundred calories over my calorie budget.  Ridiculous!

How to find chain restaurant calorie information

I had a hell of a time finding nutrition info for Chevy’s menu items.  But, luckily, California requires nutrition info on the menu, as it should be.  So I …

Went to the Chevy’s website.

Found a location in CA and the store menu.

Found Crispy Flautas on the menu.

Still couldn’t tell if it included the rice and beans, though.

4 comments

Add Yours
  1. garyarthuryoung

    It’s pretty cool. There’s online stuff, I’m sure, that’s better and safer (as far as risking losing you data with updates or if something happens to your phone). But it’s pretty convenient to have it in your hand.

    Something to do while waiting for the train, maybe.

  2. garyarthuryoung

    I know. It ain’t easy.

    But if you think about it as more of a PDA or handheld computer … well, it’s still expensive. But when the v3 software update is released this Summer the device will be pretty dang solid.

    It could be (and is most of these already) your phone, PDA, email, gaming, GPS, food journaling, eBook reading, news reader, mp3 player, internet radio, blogging, social networking, bluetooth device compatible (v3: bunch of bluetooth enabled medical gadgets and upcoming software like blood pressure and glucose levels), handheld recorder, guitar tuner and metronome, Yelp & Yellow pages, city guide, mass transit guide, Sudoku, Scrabble, web browsing, (poor quality) camera, flight tracker, GPS logging, pedometer device.

    And did I mention that there’s a Skype app now? And so much more!

    Still, I don’t see why they can’t give a discount if you have to get a 2 year contract also, y’now. I guess the 8GB is only $200, but… some phones you get practically free if you’re going to be locked into a contract.

    Have you checked out Google’s Android? That’s promising.

Leave a Reply

