New (Rough) Songs

Zoom H2

This is one of the best purchases I’ve made.  It’s a piece of work.

“Encore” was recorded with the H2 on a mic stand to capture the idea before I forgot the chords and rhythms.

I’m very impressed with the quality and balance.  If you’re a musician and do a lot of recording on the go I would recommend investing in one.

Vocals

I’m trying to work on my vocals.  I mean, I’ve sang in public and I can’t go back, right?   The idea is to be able to play and sing at the same time, which I realized I was doing when I was laying down “Encore”.

Making progress.

I’ve been listening to Karla Chisholm and Quineice’s vocal tracks from some of my recordings.  When I ask for advice about singing, the word I hear most is “confidence”.  You have to sing with confidence.  I kind of knew what that meant, but not how to do it.

Listening to their voices (and other singers) I realized that there’s a lot of stuff going on with the vowels.  Great singers sing their vowels with intent.  They shape them, play with them, tease them.  You will rarely hear someone sing a word straight up.  There’s always some push, pull or action happening with every vowel.

I don’t have the hang of it.  Not command of it, anyway.  But I’m getting better.  No fixing or tampering with the vocals on these.  Maybe there’s hope yet.

I’ll get it.

Bringing You Down

I wrote this after the incident I blogged about in Liberated Muse & Me Pt. 2.

Encore

I hear potential.  With some vocal harmonies.  I’ll live with it for a few days.  The lyrics need some work.  They feel unfinished like there’s something missing from narrative.

Leave a Reply

