New Song: Encore

Under the weather today so I’m at home.  Kind of musically manic which can be a great thing.

When I’m working on tunes and collaborate with someone, they often ask, “So what’s this for?”

“What do you mean?”

“Why … what are you recording this for?  Is it a project?  Are you working on an album?”

I don’t know.  I’m just making music.  Because I can.  Because I have to.  Because I love it.

I hope folks would be willing to buy it.  Or just listen and relate.  What good is music or art if it’s locked in a closet or apartment or on a hard drive.

Anyway, it is an honor and a privilege when Music visits you.  When it comes to you just to hang out.  When it flows through you, if that makes sense.  Last night I wrote this and recorded a roughy.  Today, at home pining for BBQ, I fleshed it out.

And much fun was had by all.

Encore

I don’t know if anyone reads this stuff, but I’m always fascinated and curious to know the motivation behind things.  That’s just me.

Just in case you are too (and because writing is almost a compulsion with me)…

This song is about cycles.  Sometimes we repeat interactions in our lives without even realizing it.  Have you ever done that?  You’ll be having a conversation with someone and realize that you’ve had that same conversation — even some of the sentences or terms — that you had with another person years ago.  Or the same argument with different people hundreds of miles and many years apart.  But the same argument.

You might even realize that the person you’re talking to is another version of a past friend or significant other.  Or to use the metaphor of this song, it’s like some people are playing certain characters in our lives. And vice versa.  Different people, same character.

It can be a good thing or a bad thing.  When it’s a less than ideal situation, you may make choices to assertively flip the script.  And you may then realize that those choices are part of the cycle, too.

So that’s what this is about.  For what it’s worth.

I had a good time putting it together.  Like a good workout.   It’s a good tired.

Leave a Reply

