Social Isms: Aurae

You ever not let someone in an SUV get in front of you?  Because you know you won’t be able to see around it?

You ever comment on someone’s Facebook status and come to realize that it wasn’t meant for you?

FYI, gentlemen.  Pregnant women aren’t looking for comments from dudes.  Any status from a pregnant woman is meant for her girly friends to croon and fawn over.

ADDENDUM:  Note to self.  MST3K-style riffing re: a pregnant woman’s ultrasound photos only entertains yourself.  Same as commenting on her baby’s sharing a likeness with Winston Churchill.

Reading Music

More oldies.  Instrumentals this time.

You ever read someone’s cryptic but troubling status message and intentionally fight the urge to comment?

You ever not introduce yourself to someone and then realize that you’ve established a pattern of non-introduction and therefore non-interaction for the duration of your non-relationship?

You ever been so upset in public that the only option is to go numb?

You ever have headphones on in public and laugh out loud?  And then count how many people look up at you?

Are you one of those people that somehow senses when they’re being looked at?  I had this conversation with a co-worker once:

“Gary, you’re hard to look at.”

“Uh.  Thank you?”

“No.  I mean, every time I look at you, you instantly look up at me.”

“Oh.  Yeh.  Stop staring into my soul!”

Do you have trouble not making eye contact with homeless people, panhandlers and crazies?

You ever feel a slight twinge of rejection when a clerk says “Have a nice day.” and you realize he/she has avoided eye contact for the entire transaction?

You ever pluck a piece of lint or a strand of hair off the clothing of a stranger standing next to you in line?

You ever regret being open with someone?

You ever broken a promise to yourself?

You ever been afraid to look at your bank statement or bills?

Do you remember random words, phrases and facts from school and books?  Nematoda, platyhelminthes, pyruvic acid, duodenum, peristalsis, mitochondria, career deviant, Kübler-Ross, Maxwell’s equations, general theory of relativity, Cress Welsing Theory of Color Confrontation, Chaucer’s “Wife of Bath”, II V I tri-tone substitution, mixolydian, eschatology, Hesse, Naruda, Faulkner, Freud, Nietzsche, Newton, Einstein, Hemingway, ovine, bovine, equine, morphemes, phonemes, fricatives, plosives, gerunds, dangling participles, deoxyribonucleic acid, light amplification by the stimulation of the emittance of radiation, electromagnetic wave propagation, familial piety, St. Augustine.

“Give me chastity and continence, but not yet.”

You ever put the milk in the cabinet and the cereal in the refrigerator?

nighthawks at the diner of Emma’s 49er
there’s a rendezvous
of strangers around the coffee urn tonight
all the gypsy hacks, the insomniacs
now the paper’s been read
now the waitress said

eggs and sausage and a side of toast
coffee and a roll
hash browns over easy
chili in a bowl
with burgers and fries
what kind of pie?

in a graveyard charade, a late shift masquerade

the classified section offered no direction
it’s a cold caffeine in a nicotine cloud
as the touch of your fingers
lingers burning in my memory
I’ve been 86ed from your scheme
now I’m in a melodramatic nocturnal scene
now I’m a refugee from a disconcerted affair
now the lead pipe morning falls
now the waitress calls

eggs and sausage and a side of toast
coffee and a roll
hash browns over easy
chili in a bowl
with burgers and fries
what kind of pie?

-Tom Waits

The Secret of Association

I found a bit of happy today.  Paul Young’s “The Secret of Association” is available on iTunes now.  “Every Time You Go Away”, “I”m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down”, “Soldier’s Things”, “Everything Must Change”, “One Step Forward”, etc.   Oh man.  Classic stuff.

The day that space shuttle Challenger exploded in flight I was home sick from school.  I was watching TV, lying in bed, listening to “The Secret of Association” on cassette trying to learn the guitar solo on “Every Time You Go Away”.  Tuesday, January 28, 1986.   (Coincidentally, I was also home sick from school the day that Pres. Reagan was shot.  Monday, March 30, 1981.)

So now I’ve got my two 80’s rock-pop socially/politically astute ballads and all is right in the world.

  1. Paul Young’s “One Step Forward”
  2. Don Henley’s “A Month of Sundays”

Aurae, Pt. 1

I have a theory.  But I don’t know to explain it.  Like, the best way I can get my head around it is through a narrative.  Fiction.  It’s not a theory so much as a … okay, I really don’t know how to say this.  I suppose it’s influenced by James Redfield’s “The Celestine Prophecy”, which more or less reinforced this notion of energy.  Emotion as energy or, as I heard someone say, emotion = energy in motion.  Plus the influence of Phillip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” books — the way he laid out the world of people with daemons so seamlessly and so brilliantly.

So here’s what I’m going to do.  This blog entry is going to have a part two.

For now, there’s a blizzard outside my window — a legitimate, real, actual blizzard — and I don’t have any food in the house.

The Tangent Demon has Possessed Me

So it looks like I’m going on walkabout.  Or least a walking trek to the grocery store.  Oddly, I had decided the other night to drive to Boston after the Potter’s House gig last night, but … snow.  I’ll take that.  A change of pace/perspective without having to go anywhere.

I did just step outside into the snow barefoot.  Just because.   Conclusion: snow is cold.  And sticks to your feet.  And melts between your toes.  Oh wow.  I just remembered something.  Okay, this is a snow tangent.  Years ago I had hurt my knee somehow.  Oh.  Trying to ski for the first time.  Oy.

Anyway, I was kind of limping along and it hurt to bend my leg.  I was at a cabin in Soda Springs(?) not far from Tahoe with a friend and his relatives.   We went out and played in the snow for a few hours.  Jumped off the deck into, like, five feet of snow.  Made tunnels, channels for luge-like sliding.  Forts.  After being waist deep in snow all day — it was like a full-blown therapeutic ice pack.  The next day it felt all better.  Good times.

So if you’ve got muscle and joint aches and pains, go play in the snow for a while.  Then take a nice hot shower or soak.  It’s good for what ails ya.

2 comments

Add Yours

Leave a Reply

