LGN 22: The Lean, Sexy Body You Deserve

Click here to see all of my LGN (I want to Look Good Naked) posts.

I heard a radio informercial selling a multivitamin.  Or maybe it was a metabolism boosting pill.  After explaining how you don’t have to change your diet or habits in any way to see results, the announcer said, “… and finally have the lean, sexy body you deserve.”

A sensation passed over me like when I’m playing guitar, strum a chord and one of the strings is a quarter note out of tune.  It’s the audio equivalent of eating sunflower seeds or pistachios and getting a hold of one of those skanky, bitter, nasty ones.

First, let me say that I’ve tried shortcuts before.  Whatever my reasoning at the time I definitely wanted quick results like everybody else.  With that said, you don’t deserve a lean, sexy body.  You do not deserve it.  I do not deserve it.  Unless.

Unless you exercise (hopefully in a way you enjoy) and eat reasonably.

At the risk of sounding preachy, you don’t deserve a lean, sexy body.  If…

If you eat processed foods.  Foods with refined sugar.  Don’t have awareness of how many calories you consume  compared to how many you expend.  Have repeated or chronic issues with bloat, intestinal distress, trouble sleeping, skin conditions (I really need to see an allergist and soon) and so on without trying to at least temporarily cleanse your diet — wheat and dairy are common culprits.  Drink hundreds of empty calories worth of alcoholic beverages on a regular basis.  Habitually drink soda.

If you do things that you know are bad for you.  If you refuse to give up what you know is bad for you.

Then do you really deserve a lean, sexy body?

It’s a clever ploy by marketing advertisers.  They instill a sense of entitlement in you and then offer you something sleek and shiny.  I’m on to your mind games, advertisers.

By the way, when I say “exercise” and “diet” … those words aren’t really adequate because you think of toiling away or being some gym rat snob or eating a baby carrot, drinking a glass of water and calling it a day.

I’m doing the kettlebell training and that is, you better believe it, intense at times.  But I like that kind of thing.  You may not.  A lot of people wouldn’t.

Or yoga.  Yoga is out of my comfort zone.  I like it, though.  But if that’s not your thing there’s always the aerobic kickboxing type of classes or Zumba seems to be all the rage.   Dance and groove for an hour to get fit?  That sounds like a party.

Honestly, though, you probably will never look and feel like you want to unless you also have some resistance training in there as well, i.e. lifting, pushing, pulling things.

Point is, there are all kinds of options out there now.  Some are trendy.  Some are odd.  But they’re out there.  There are so many resources and so many people trying to do the right thing and sharing that information with the world.

If you want, you have a lot of alternative ways to do the right thing and EARN the body that you desire.

We have to earn it.  And we’re already on the way.   So many of you have started.

Let’s keep it up, family, friends, workout partners, virtual workout partners

Death Sentence

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2011/apr/02/i-am-a-90-year-old-bodybuilder

That guy has it right.  I wish I could convince my family to think like that.  I keep telling my 93 year old grandmother, whose birthday was last week, that I don’t want to hear her talking like she’s getting old.

Oh wow.  I just realized something.  There are some serious health issues in my family and I heard at least three people the other day say something to the effect of  “Gotta die from something” right before they ate something that contributes to their condition.

Don’t even get me started on the enabling.  It’s so backwards to me.

If a loved one is in tear-inducing pain due to arthritis that could be greatly alleviated by losing weight, I would not bring them fat-inducing sweets and pastries.

It’s time to say,  “No more!”  Or, “Thanks, but no thanks.”

Family

We probably all have older relatives who relate through comfort food.  It’s time to take a polite, loving but firm stance.

When your matronly relatives say in one breath, “Oh you’re gaining weight”, and in the next breath offer you a plate stacked with cake, pie and ice cream (after a chunkifying meal), you have every right — for the sake of your human dignity — to politely and lovingly decline.

Feel guilty if you have to.  If they feel hurt, that’s unfortunate and too friggin’ bad.  They have no right to insist that you have a spare tire or flabby mid-section.  They have no right to insist that you shoot up (with sugars) when you’ve been working as hard as you can to kick the habit.  Your body is your responsibility and your burden — your heart, your arteries, your joints.  Not theirs.

Tell them you’re watching your weight. Tell them you’re training for the Olympics.   Tell them the doctor said that if you don’t lose weight you won’t be able to give them grandchildren or great grandchildren or whatever.  Hehe.  That’s bad.

But you get my point.

Life is a Death Sentence but Living is Not

Wha?  I’m not sure that makes sense but I’m going to let it stand.

I agree wholeheartedly with what the 90 year old man in that article linked above says:

I’m not chasing youthfulness. I’m chasing health. People have been brainwashed to think that after you’re 65, you’re finished. We’re told that old age is a continuous state of decline, and that  we should stop working, slow down and prepare to die. I disagree.

And what I’m realizing is that the years between your late 30s and 65 are going to be critical to your quality of life during your middle aged years and as a senior citizen.  You’ve noticed a little already if you’re in your late 20s.  You won’t bounce back from bad decisions, mistakes and accidents like you used to.  Then later on those choices and lifestyles will determine whether or not you can climb a flight of stairs, have to have knees or hips replaced, have a pacemaker, are prone to strokes and heart attacks.  Alzheimers.  [Shudder]

The Question

So the question really is, how?  How do we motivate ourselves?  How do we change our habits, behaviors and addictions?  Can we do it on our own?

2 comments

Add Yours
  1. jannamo

    Thanks for that link, I sent it to my folks. I hope they’re not offended, but I don’t think they will be.

    They’ve recently been reading about how exercise stimulates new muscle and brain growth, but it’s been daunting for them to figure out how to train properly in their mid and late 60s.

    I recommended they get a trainer, but that just seems expensive to them. And I haven’t seen any CrossFit/Kettlebell type places that would really be comfortable for people as old as them, especially without a fitness background.

    There’s seriously a niche there I think.

  2. garyarthuryoung

    Oh wow. You are so right. With all the baby boomers? Personal training geared toward keeping them fit and recovering from various ailments?

    That’s a skillion dollar idea and a good service. Brilliant.

    I guess personal trainers are expensive but … not compared to hospitals and surgeries.

Leave a Reply

