LGN 24.5: The Monday Morning Motivator

I’m going to pin this to the top of my blog, assuming I can figure out how to do that.  This is what Justin wrote plus a comment I left. I’d rather point to this rather than copy it here, but heck. Dig it. 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.

“Suck it, obesity!”

From the Underground Athlete website

On June 20th, 2011

When I think about the people that motivate me the most it’s not the Brian Tracy or Tony Robbins of the world, it’s the people I get the opportunity to work with every single day. I know that coaches are supposed to be the ones doing the motivating, but motivation is a 2 lane super highway and there’s no doubt it’s contagious. I will now use Mondays to showcase an Underground Athlete or anything else that motivates the heck out of me for one reason or another.

It’s only appropriate to start with the person that made me think to do this. Gary Young has only been training with us for a short time (13 weeks). In that time he’s dropped 35lbs and is gaining strength weekly, but that isn’t why he motivates me. We train a lot of people that have gotten insanely strong and dropped a significant amount of weight. What makes Gary different is his ability to stay focused on the goal.

Gary has committed to changing his life and like we suggest he is going all in. Gary keeps his UA journal up to date at all times. He tracks every single thing that goes in his mouth. He writes down his bedtime and his mood throughout the day. He rates his workouts and puts little faces next to exercises. He had a face next to single leg squats that I couldn’t figure out. It looked like one of those troll dolls with the crazy hair. So I asked him,”Gary what the heck does this mean?”

“Oh that one makes me want to rip my hair out.”

He must really hate single leg squats because he doesn’t even have hair.  Gary takes it a step further and uses iphone programs to track his calories and the polar system to track his heart rate during our sessions. Here’s a page out of Gary’s journal so you see what I mean.

Mesocycle 1

Mesocycle 2

Mesocycle 3

Gary’s shared folder is filled with charts and graphs from every workout. He is making fitness his number 1 priority and refuses to let anything get in his way. He blogs about his training and the obstacles he faces check it out here. It’s actually entertaining and very well written. I’m not saying you have to take it to this level to see results, but if you’re not seeing the results you want you might want to ask yourself, “am I doing even half of what Gary does?” I have no doubt Gary will meet and probably exceed his goal weight of 200lbs. Seeing his dedication and focus makes me want to help him reach his goals even faster, funny how that works.

Here’s Gary 35lbs lighter after just a few weeks. Keep up the good work. You motivate me.

  1. If you’re thinking about training, this workout thing is definitely a journey. And hard work. But it becomes a habit after a few weeks. You don’t feel right when you miss a workout.

    I’ve never done any kind of strength training before so it was all new to me. I was intimidated when I first walked into Underground Athlete for the fitness analysis. I was also embarrassed by my out-of-shapeness. I’m glad I followed through, though. I wish I would have started this years ago instead of putting on 10+ lbs. every year.

    I still have a lot of work to do but I’m looking forward to it.

    I’m stronger, more flexible, sleep better, don’t crave fast food (other than a few carbs every now and then but a little goes a long way these days), and can see steady progress.

    But most importantly, I had a blast mountain biking the other night. I haven’t ridden since September and I felt better on the trails than I have in nearly a decade.

    Tell Justin what you like/love to do and he’ll see to it that you’re ready for it.

    Carpe diem.

    Click here to see all of my LGN (I want to Look Good Naked) posts.
2 comments

Add Yours
  1. jannamo

    This is awesome. You found yourself a quality trainer there, and you’re as inspiring as he says.

    Suck it, physical limitations!

    • garyarthuryoung

      Isn’t it? Still working on it. Gettin’ there.

      Definitely a quality trainer. Justin is great.

      I suspect that I’m going to be disappointed by any other trainers in my long term future.

      I think life is continuing its habit of placing me in the presence of amazing, inspiring, humble and good people.

Leave a Reply

