LGN 50: Inspiration

Inside:  I stink; Matt moments; Running; Serious inspiration; It is hot hot hot

“I am

Smelling like a rose that somebody gave me on my birthday death bed

I am

Smelling like a rose that somebody gave me ’cause I’m dead and bloated.”

Thanks, Stone Temple Pilots.  I really stink right now, is what I’m saying.  A tad noisome, if you will.  Emitting noxious odors.  Effluvia.

Saturday after workouts is usually when I end up at Whole Foods paying too much money for some really good stuff.  But Saturday after workouts is one of my more olfactory assaulting times.

“Sir, do you have a medical condition?  I’m not judging, of course. Perhaps you’re part skunk.”

“Perhaps YOU should take a step back and stop eyeing my bacon and guacamole or I will spray you so bad.”

Some Inspiration

I definitely have my ups and downs.  From Wiktionary:

inspiration (countable and uncountable; plural inspirations)

  1. The act of inspiring or breathing in.
  2. breath
  3. (physiology) The drawing of air into the lungs, accomplished in mammals by elevation of the chest walls and flattening of the diaphragm.
  4. The act or power of exercising an elevating or stimulating influence upon the intellect or emotions; the result of such influence which quickens or stimulates; as, the inspiration of occasion, of art, etc.
  5. A supernatural divine influence on the prophets, apostles, or sacred writers, by which they were qualified to communicate moral or religious truth with authority; a supernatural influence which qualifies men to receive and communicate divine truth; also, the truth communicated.

I feel fat still sometimes.  I’m leaning out but still.  And there are times when I’m just a waste of time and space.  Like, I’m not bashing myself but you know how it is when you mess up or waste time or procrastinate.  Basically, when you don’t do what you should have done.  Or maybe you don’t do something that you want to do.

I did absolutely NOTHING on Wednesday, the 4th of July.  Had the day off work.  I didn’t leave the apartment.  No.  That’s not true.  I walked to the mailbox because I was expecting a Netflix movie.  That was pretty much it.  Still haven’t watched the movie.  I didn’t do any writing, music or art.  I did learn my way around GarageBand on the iPad a little more.  And I ate food of some sort.

I don’t know what my problem is.  I get like that sometimes.  We all have those days when we just never reach the tipping point of doing stuff.  It’s good to have a do-nothing day every once in a while.  I don’t think it’s good to be so good at it or to fall into it so easily.

I’ve been very hazy lately.  Not mentally, but time just goes by and bleh.  Training times are full of clarity and good people.  Writing and musicking are good times.  But otherwise, it’s really easy to putz around, accomplish very little, and have pretend faux-friendships via the digital convenience of social networks.  That ain’t livin’.  I’m just saying that social networks should be a social facilitator and not a proxy for relationships, he said to himself.  Anywho…

Since people have been joining me for post-workout runs, I realize that I really like doing stuff with other people.  It feels good to run in a pack.  There’s something really satisfying about that.  It makes mountain biking or hiking solo less satisfying sometimes, although I do like to explore and scout on my own.

Anyway, this section of the blog is dedicated to you when you feel crappy about yourself.  Sometimes I listen to this song or just play the lyrics in my mind.

That don’t mean we’re better than anyone or anything
It’s a call to come together and accept responsibility

And be amazing, incredible
You’re a miracle, a dream come true
I’m marvelous; I’m beautiful
Guess what?
So are you.

Mm hm.

Some Matt moments

This section is brought to you by Coach Bales and the number 3.

Matt: “Come on, Gary.  What’s taking you so long.”

Me trying to recover from part one of the finisher:  “Hey.  I may be old.  But — I’m slow.”

Matt: “You’re one of the lucky ones then.  That’s a rare combination.”

Haha.

Me (while doing a half kneeling one armed row):  “Man, my left side feels a lot weaker than my right today.”

Matt:  “Aw.  You want me to help with you that?”

Me:  “Yes.”

Matt:  “Okay, are you ready?”  (Gently pats me on the left shoulder)  “There there.”

That’s two Not Quite Super Saturdays, Bales!  Guess we’ll have to pick up the slack without you.

A UA Running Club?

Did you see the Map My Run trails I posted?  A few loops to run starting from UA.  There’s a 1.6er, a 1.8er and a 2 miler.  I did a little car scouting today and saw some little additions that I’ll explore on a cooler day.  I hope these links work.

WARNING:  Ladies, I do not recommend doing these routes alone.  Not the ones that go through the little wooded trails.  Especially in the evenings as the days get shorter.  Not that I’ve ever seen or heard of any trouble, but you know.  There are sometimes a lot of dudes just hanging out after the league games are over.  I’ve never seen rude or inappropriate behavior, but as a rule, groups of dudes are singularities of macho chaos so — you know.  Ever vigilant.  Stay frosty out there.

I’m trying to work my way up to 3.1 miles, which is 5K.  Then from there I’ll work on doing it faster or doing it on more hilly terrain.  I’m not going into Tough Mudder again without at least attempting to get my body used to the stresses of running and trail running.

What I like about making plans like this out loud is that my cohorts always manage to push me ahead of my imaginary schedule.  I’m all for it.

I also really need to do some Justin/UA drills, intervals, and sprinting.  That can’t be ignored.

But it’s really important to me to be able to run for a distance and perform well, y’know.  That aspect of longer steady exertion was completely missing.  Mountain biking, for example, is not steady at all.  Your heart rate will be all over the place.

The time when I was most cardiovascularly competent was when I was very and longitudinally unemployed back around 2003.  I was on the treadmill every other day and mountain biking every other day.  And doing a bastardized low carb thing.

I also really screwed up my hip pounding on the treadmill doing too much too soon.  It was pretty bad.  I never went to the doctor but I was walking with a cane for about two weeks because I was in so much pain.

So listen to Justin on this.  He has sent out emails and written blogs with ideas of steady state cardio that isn’t joint and ligament crushing.

Gratitude

I would like to personally thank all of these supportive people.  You all are awesome.

I think Haley the Hawk was one of the first people to join me on a slow, winded trot down to Rt. 50 and back.  She could have walked faster than I was “running”, but she was so cool about it.  Then Haley and Lisa, I think.

I started to slack but Jeanie upped the ante.  She sent me a message saying she’d come run with me.  The next Tuesday she drove 40 minutes each way to run with me for, like, 8 minutes in a serious downpour.  I’m not exaggerating.  It was a driving rain and wind.  You had to breathe through your mouth to not breathe water.  She just said, “We are so crazy!  This is fun!  Good job, Gary!”  And then encouraged me the whole way as I tried to breathe.

Sara started running with us and gave great advice that actually helped a lot and instantly.  And of course she introduced Indian Runs and up-pace jogs up the incline back to UA.  Beware when you run with coaches.  They make it twice as fun and twice as challenging.

Justin has done some awesome and humbling running Finishers.  They’re grueling but on the money.  He joined Jeanie and I one day for his warm up — and just because they’re creative and open-minded — we jogged back up to UA backwards.  I had to walk a little bit.  Those were some new sensations, let me tell you, but I felt it in some muscles that need attention.

Oh man!  We’ve got to get some photos.

Then Veronica, aka V-Ronica aka V-Ron aka V-Ro aka V, stepped up.  Magically, she stepped in on the days when I was set on slacking.  That was the first longer run I’ve done non-stop even though we had gone out with the intention of a 50-and-back lap.  We went over the stream, across the fields and through the woods for that 1.8er.

JK has jumped on board and Tuck, too.  Tuck and I did a 100 degree Hot Trot today.  It’s hot as hell out there, y’all.  Be safe.

Let’s see.  We’ve done rain.  We’ve done blistering heat.  What’s next?  Snow?  Locusts?

I’m getting there, friends.  And guess what?  So are you.

Click here to see all of my LGN (I want to Look Good Naked) and functional strength training posts.

Leave a Reply

