Old Man Young Rants: The Most Racist Ish I’ve Ever Seen

Inside: It’s like peeing; Serena; What the hell; Black hateration; Can you be black and racist?

I’m sorry.  This is troubling.  I’ve been writing this for weeks now and wasn’t sure I’d post it publicly.  It was written in pieces, which is why it’s even less coherent than usual.  I was just getting some stuff off my chest and I guess it just brimmed over.  No, really.  Sorry.  Especially for the screenshot.

I’m really tired of all this race stuff.  Then why am I writing about it?  Because things get stuck in my brain and I get that compulsive itch to mentally organize and parse it into writing.  Writing, music, art.  It’s like having to pee.  Except since it’s not physical you can hold it longer.  I usually don’t have any regrets (or get angry feedback) when I pee, though.

Also, like peeing, you don’t just do it once and get it over with.  You’re going to drink fluids again and therefore will need to evacuate eventually.  Haha.  Did I just say that artistic expression is a form of excretion?  I think I did.  Yep.  I’m a romantic.

Whoa!!  This is the most racist s— I’ve ever seen!

I tried to Google to see if it’s for real, whatever that would mean.  You’d think that it’s got to be some kind of twisted over the top farce, right?  Right??  But while I was searching to find that out I came across other sites who were just as bad.  After ten minutes of research I could — but I won’t — give you links to a few handfuls of other sites/blogs that are as racist and consider this site an ally.

I stumbled into this pit because I looked up the name of a complete piece of crap who committed a horrible crime. It’s … it’s really bad.  It happened in South Africa.  The perpetrators were black.  Looked up one of their names and boom!  A bunch of web pages leading to other pages all based on the premise that black people are subhuman.  Hm.

So even if this isn’t for real, there are a bunch of real sites out there that are totally down with this.  I don’t want to give you their links and names and I don’t want you to go to this site.  I took a screenshot and if you click the image below you’ll see what was on its front page today.

Also along this line, there’s a site that’s devoted to white children killed by non-white people.  The premise, of course, is white innocence being destroyed by dark savages.  How “Birth of a Nation”.  I mean, those deaths are obviously tragic and appalling and heartbreaking and I’d be perfectly fine for anyone who kills children to be sentenced to life in the electric chair.  That’s one thing.  It’s another to use those deaths to paint non-white people as evil or whatever based on one’s prejudice.

“I believe black people are pieces of crap.  Oh, look at all the articles I’ve collected of black people being stupid, ergo black people are pieces of crap.”

Dichotomous

I’m torn.  I’m torn because the more research I do online about various race things it’s inevitable that I find some really racist crap online.  So on one hand all this racism troubles me and wounds me if I let it.  If my guard is down.

On the other hand, I’m troubled by some of the rhetoric I hear from facets of the black community.  They can’t speak one sentence about any socio-political subject without “because racism”.  Slight hyperbole but only slight.  How do you deal with collective issues if you can’t introspect without shifting to an external locus of control.

There will always be racists.  In any culture with a majority and a minority there will always be unfair-ness.  We have to fight it, educate, stand up for the rights of those who are on the short end of the stick, but we can’t ignore or delay our own condition in favor of tearing our wounds open and expecting solace from the very factions or powers that we hold responsible.

Your violator isn’t going to heal you.

Two Ideas

The funny thing about all of these racists I’m talking about below is that they seem to want to prove that black people are not good people.  Questions on Ask.com and Yahoo Answers and the like seem to be from people who are trying to get proof to bolster their arguments about blacks being a drain on society.

Questions like:  What have black people contributed to the world?  And don’t say music.

People trying to find info to counter arguments that black people use to defend or humanize themselves.

The funny thing is that while these racist a-holes are talking about how, let’s just say it, inferior black people are, America is on a rapid decline in terms of world ranking in many ways.

Education, for example.  Financially.

Don’t even get me started on the slavery thing.  You’ll hear:

  • White people were slaves, too.
  • Black people owned slaves, too.
  • It was the Africans who sold other Africans so it’s all their fault.
  • We fought a war over you so shut up and move on.

To which I say, black people owned slaves the same way that Jewish people killed Germans in the early 1940s.  You know it had to happen, but if that’s your focus when you think about WWII you’re kind of missing the point.  And you’re kind of an asshole.

And please understand.  I acknowledge that there are aspects of African American culture that are not good.  But you’ll notice that the factors associated with those bad aspects are the same factors that bring out and showcase bad aspects of any other group of human beings.

Poverty.  Lack of education and, yeh, a lack of respect for education.  Generational cycles of abuse and dysfunction.  That’s the thing about us human beings.  Dysfunction is passed on for generations, whether it’s alcoholism, drug abuse, physical, verbal, emotional, sexual abuse or whatever.

People see the bad stuff and think, “Oh, what a shame.”

And that’s if they’re compassionate and not racist a-holes. We — including upper middle class me — see blighted communities as “over there”.   That’s “those people”.  But the ills we see are just a microcosm of the whole.

Whatever ails the most ghetto (for lack of a better word) The Wire-ish thuggish black inner city area is just a symptom of our society as a whole.  It’s very Kahlil Gibran.  Example:  the housing and foreclosure crisis.

We’re all on the verge.  People are getting left in the dust on this.  It’s affecting minority communities especially hard, but economic forces are rocking our world.  If you’re lacking education or higher education and aren’t a skilled/trade worker, you’re world is spinning.

When you see something tearing through the black community, you can rest assured that in a matter of years it’s going to be a mainstream problem or issue — divorce rates, absent fathers, unemployment and so on.  And vice versa.  These are facets of our society, our world.

Because these are human being problems.  Not “those people” problems.

Serena

The world is a racist place, my friends.  It just is.  Even though I hate air travel I would like to see more of the world.  The more I read and learn, though, I realize that the world really does not like black people.  I bet Greece is beautiful.  They really can’t stand African immigrants now that their economy is faltering.  It’s always the immigrants that catch hell when economies go bad.  The Nordic countries.  Spain.  Ireland.  New Zealand?  I hear Scotland has some amazing mountain biking trails.  If I travel around the world (or around parts of the US) will I experience the same hospitality that my white friends will?

I actively try to resist blogging about it, believe it or not.  Well, usually I have a bunch of drafts sitting around.  I start thoughts and it’s kind of like writing a letter to someone and then tearing it up.  It  provides catharsis.  Except I don’t tear them up.  They’re just sitting there in my WordPress ‘Drafts’.

This wasn’t meant to see the light of day, but I read about Serena Williams’ Wimbledon victory and some of the responses to it.

In short there were a bunch of people tweeting, calling her a gorilla.  That she looks like a gorilla.  Or that she looks like a man in a gorilla suit.  That type of thing.

It doesn’t surprise me but it hurts to hear that kind of stuff.  Often in those tweets they’ll hash tag it with #notracist.

A few months ago a black NHL player scored a winning goal against Boston.  Tweets popped up about it being worse because they were beaten by a nigger.

Black (African or West Indian) soccer (or football) players in Europe have recently been heckled by spectators with monkey noises or people throwing banana peels in their direction.

It’s my belief that black people still aren’t viewed as fully human.

Serena Williams is beautiful, in my opinion.  Physically formidable, too.  To the point of being intimidating maybe.

I was watching reruns of the 2011 Crossfit Games women’s competition.  Annie Thorisdottir is beautiful, too, and physically formidable.  Her abs are extreme.  Not the flat, sleek look you might think of when you think of tight, lady abs.  She’s rockin’ a six pack that puts any man’s torso to shame.  A lot of the women were really muscular.  Short, tall, bulky, more lean.  You watch them in action and think, “Damn.  She could kick my ass.  At anything.”

The point is, I bet these same people who tweet ignorant things wouldn’t look at these Valkyrie-like athletes and think of them in terms of animals, primates, not-quite-homo-sapiens.  The language from those who appreciate super athletic women would probably use terms more along the lines of “goddess” than “gorilla”.

Against the Grain

When I write about racial stuff I probably rub everyone the wrong way.  I try to be reasonable but this is one of those issues where being middle of the road puts you right in the middle of two-way, road raging traffic.

I have really got to stop listening to these shows.  Less of them now, but still.  They’re so angry.

  • The other day some black commentators called Obama a sell out and a traitor.  It was just a matter of time, really.  They’ve been saying it without saying it for years now.
  • I heard the word “coon” today more times than a Paul Mooney comedy special, courtesy of black radio hosts and their guests.
  • In the black studies world, some people can’t get through more than one sentence without mentioning slavery.  Heard a news editorial with a somewhat famous black writer.  They asked him about some current events issue and he made it about half way into his first sentence before he mentioned slavery.  Wha?
  • There’s a black female journalist on an editorial panel who is convinced that They are trying to make black men look bad.  Whether it’s Kony or corruption in the DC government or City Council.  Her response to any story of a black man in or causing trouble is that there’s some grand, racist conspiracy to make black men look bad.
  • Heard an older black radio host talking about gentrification in DC.  He often talks about his changing neighborhood.  Some white people moving in next door to him parked in his driveway.  On his radio show he said that they probably  thought that the Dred Scott decision still applied and that he had no rights and — whoa.
  • Anyone who calls into a radio show and greets with “Hotep” usually ends up yelling a la fiery sermon by the end of the conversation.

So much anger and rage.  As a group, we black people are traumatized to some degree or another.

Can black people be racist?

Yes.

I’ve heard multiple conversations recently and I’ve heard it before.  That black people can be prejudice but not racists because in order to be racist you have to have power over another group of people.

I don’t buy it, though.  You have to change the definition of the word racist in order to make that reasoning work.

rac·ism/ˈrāˌsizəm/

Noun:
  1. The belief that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, esp. so as to distinguish it as…
  2. Prejudice or discrimination directed against someone of a different race based on such a belief.
Would that also mean that, say, minorities can’t hold racists views about each other?  I’m so not into this kind of semantic origami.  If you want to talk about inter-personal racism vs. institutional racism, then fine.

But don’t get me wrong

I’ve been thinking about this stuff because I think having our heads up our own identities is ultimately harmful to ourselves.  That’s the way it goes, though, and that’s nothing new.  What did they say on the Scotland Outdoors Podcast?  The Scots biggest enemy was the Scots.
Clans warring against each other constantly.  That’s what people do.  Given a little social stress we gather with those like us and prepare to defend or attack.
You can read about people — a fair number of them are government officials — saying straight up racist things.  I’m not talking about the iffy borderline things that can be misconstrued as racially insensitive either.  I’m talkin’ straight up racist.
Go on the internet.  You can go to the comments section of any news site or any of those “Ask a Question” sites.  The amount of racism is staggering.  It’s painful.  It actually got me down tonight and I backed off of trying to research things.
I’m not an apologist for messed up behavior of anyone.  You don’t think it pisses black people off when hundreds of mostly young black men kill gun each other down or who knows what?  Do you not think that we’re mortified when these flash mob videos make the rounds?  You don’t hear about them but there are groups that make an effort to bring attention to these incidents, too, and to try and provide young people with opportunities to choose a better, more productive, less lethal path.
Intense isolation, social and economic segregation, and the plight of the underclass is going to lead to dysfunctional behavior.  I don’t care who are you.  Meth addicts in the heartland.  No one is immune and black people aren’t special in this regard.  Well, we’re over-represented still, percentage-wise, in too many bad statistics.
There are some in the black community who will not acknowledge problems that exist in facets of the black community, though.  Okay, that’s not true.  They will acknowledge problems but only if they can do so by indicting The System.  That’s what worries me.   I mean, Black people aren’t a monolith any more than any other group.
But I worry that while the world changes, economically and politically, African Americans especially will still be stuck while the rest of the world eventually adapts.
I heard some interviews with folks who are cheering on the idea of Black Separatism.  I laughed out loud when I heard that.  The entire world is changing.  We’re now in a global economy struggling to compete with market forces and you want to segregate yourself?  Make a pocket of blackness somehow?  The Amish and Mennonites manage to do it, I guess, but their ideas about quality of life and standard of living are very different.  Good luck with that.

Multi-Dimensional

We exist on many different levels.  As individuals, family members, citizens, homo sapiens, vertebrates, and so on.  We step into and out of those roles.  They overlap, obviously.  We are not one dimensional.  We have many dimensions overlapping and interacting and they’re translucent.
It’s ironic (but understandable) that people will claim America and its exceptionalism, especially around patriotic holidays, but when it comes to slavery and the Jim Crow era it’s suddenly, “I didn’t have anything to do with that.  What does the past have to do with now?”
It’s time that we all need to pull our heads out of our asses.  I mean, identities.  Pull our heads out of our identities.  Whether it’s being a woman, black, asian, gay, deaf, green, vegetarian or whatever.
We’re regressing into all of these insular little communities.  With the internet we have so many ways to immerse ourselves in like-mindedness.

Coiffee Break

Eh.  I know.  Cut me a little slack.
Someone on Facebook posted about being on a dating site.  She’s black and a white guy sent her a message complimenting her, saying that she’s beautiful and he really likes and admires her natural hair.
How do you think she took that?  Did she post on Facebook to say, “Look at what this kind, charming gentleman sent to me.”
No.  She posted on Facebook how this white guy sent her a condescending message and isn’t it messed up how white people just don’t get it.
If you look at the world through a lens of “You Don’t Get Me” or “The World is Racist” or “The World is Patriarchy” or “The World is Racist Patriarchy” then that’s what you’ll get.  I mean, you’ll apply that layer of reality on to the individuals around you and in your life.
It would be like me saying to, say, an Asian woman with long, dark beautiful hair, “Your hair is beautiful.”
Then she goes online and writes, “Some dude with a serious case of Yellow Fever just tried to compliment me like I’m going to be his submissive Oriental Geisha girl.”
Or if I said to a white woman, “You’ve got beautiful natural highlights in your hair.”
And she said, “Man, this guy has some jungle fever fantasy thing going on.  He probably has delusions of some virginal whiteness forbidden fruit thing going on.”
Y’know.  Let’s get a grip, people.  Or maybe I need to get a grip on how I spend my time.  Maybe I just need to stop reading this stuff online.  I guess the people who take the time to formulate cohesive, intelligent (if not sardonic) comments on the sites of insular communities are a self selecting audience.
That’s not to say that there’s no context to our everyday lives.  That context can have real consequences.  But there are also individuals in the world and we choose how we’re going to interact on an interpersonal level.  If you’re looking for offensive things,  you will find offensive things.  Because innocent or ignorant or neutral things can easily be interpreted as offensive.

Interracial Dating

I signed up on an interracial dating site a few years ago.  Okay, hear me out.  Hear me out.  I didn’t do it because I don’t find black women attractive or because I’m intentionally over-looking black women.  Some black people still consider it as self-hating or traitorous or an affront to black women if you date outside your race.
I don’t hold these neo-retro anti-miscegenation views.  If I wanted to live in the turn of the century racist deep south (of the Canadian border), I’d … uh … I’d move down to Mississippi where that Baptist church recently refused to let a black couple get married.
Just so you know, it was one of the many sites I registered on.  I did it because on the mainstream sites like Match, Cupid, Chemistry, Yahoo, etc., given the overall demographics of the site and the racial preferences expressed by that population, it was just a downer.  At least on an interracial dating site I knew that I was at least more likely to not be rejected on the basis of my race.  There’s a great OKCupid blog post about that, which gives voice to the experience of a lot of minorities based on analyzing their own data.
If you’re black on those sites, for example, sorry.  You are not high on the list of what people are looking for.
So there may be a 94% match (whatever that means) between me and a woman on there, but Black/African-American will not be on their list of race/ethnicities they’d be willing to date.
Then on the interracial dating site I’d find women who were describing, like, Ray Lewis.  Or mentioning athletes by name.  The stereotypical physicality of a buff, strong black dude.   Or Mandingo.  I find that whole scene offensive, but I guess you can’t blame people for preferring what they prefer.  I’d probably be less critical of it if it benefited me.  🙂
“Hi, I like your natural balding.”
“Well, alriiiiight.  This site is the bomb!”
By the way, I’m horrible at the whole concept of personals sites and dating so … yeh.  But I can’t blame that on anybody but m’self.

Palms 23

I’ve had white people ask me questions about my hair or skin.  I was kind of a camp counselor once when I was a teenager and a kid — wow, I still remember his name — started looking at my hands while we were talking.  I said, “What?”
He said, “I thought black people were black all over.”
I told my grandfather about it.  We were out in the backyard and he was doing something utilitarian at the time like always.  I said that it was kind of funny.
My grandfather said, “And sad.”
He was right, of course.
I had choices of how to handle that kid’s question.  Walk away angry.  Label him as ignorant or racist.  Say something about his segregated experience being evidence of a racist/classist system.  I could have been insulted.  These days I would phrase that last sentence as, I could have chosen to be insulted.  But I don’t want to carry some chip on my shoulder of racial angst.  I’m not saying I don’t have any.   I’m saying that I don’t consider it a badge of honor and I don’t use it as a weapon.
I held up my hand, palm out.  Well, I laughed.  I mean, come on.  Seriously?  Held my palm out and said (paraphrasing from a 26 year old memory), “Not on our palms or bottoms of our feet.  Look at your hand.  It’s pretty much the same.    Our skin on the bottoms of our hands and feet don’t have much melanin and have a thicker layer of dead skin.”
I don’t know if dead skin is technically accurate but he got my point.

Overload

I’m just … disappointed.  We, as a generation in what is known as Western Civilization in the Information Age, have so much.  We’re so privileged.  And we’re so angry about it.
Not everyone has the same, obviously.  But even the poorest in the U.S. usually have the creature comforts that a lot of the world still doesn’t.  Reliable electricity, plumbing, lots of calories (quantity over quality, maybe, but still).  Well, that’s assuming that you’re not homeless.  But aside from that semi-unseen underclass, America and the western world is rolling in every luxury and creature comfort and now gadgetry.
We have access to the world, physically or virtually.
And we’re so upset and constantly lashing out.  Sometimes I would swear that cell phones were invented to facilitate arguments on the go.
There are injustices, no doubt.  I’m not going to bother with more in this blog entry, but it seems like they just fuel the fire that’s already burning and that we constantly stoke.
What the heck is going on?
Alright.  This long-ass blog is just me unloading over the course of a few weeks.  If you made it this far … thanks.  You could have been spending your time looking at those somecard things or laughing at captioned cat pictures.
Leave a Reply

