LGN 66: I Challenge You

Holy crap! What have I been eating??

Okay, UAthletes (and anyone else focusing on fitness). There are a lot of good, humbling fitness challenges at the gym courtesy of Justin’s mad genius.

But for me, it’s what happens outside of the gym where I struggle. A recent conversation made me realize that I need to start tracking my meals again.

I did well on Prime. Lost weight/fat, got stronger, felt better and lighter. But somewhere near month two I lost my way and succumbed to my typical ursine winter habits.

I fired up the DB Tracker iPhone app tonight and entered yesterday and today’s food. I was mortified to see that I’m apparently in the habit of eating around 3,000 calories per day. That’s about 900 more than my forgotten goal.

If fat math worked in a purely Euclidean way that’d be a recipe to gain a pound every four days. Macro nutrients aside that’s just more than my body needs.

Belts don’t lie.

And I have the nerve to wonder why I haven’t been shedding lard.

What’s that saying? You can’t out-train a bad diet.

So my challenge to you is to track your meals for a week. (Or do you do that already and it’s just me who’s been slacking?). Then I challenge us to fix the glitches.

What say you?

PUMPED
The days are getting longer. There are awkwardly early portents of Spring. There are beautiful, crisp, sunny days.

My winter hibernation mode is on the wane. In other words it’s the perfect time to get back in the groove. In ready. I’m pumped. We’re on the verge of my favorite time of year.

Lets do it.

Click here to see all of my LGN (I want to Look Good Naked) and functional strength training posts.

5 comments

Add Yours

Leave a Reply

