Things I Love; Something I Hate

Update: I decided to remove the negative portion of this entry so it’s all love, no hate now.

Inside: Trigger warning; Things I love– some of them; Something I hate

I don’t want to be a negative person. I have been in the past.

To be honest, I felt validated when I could be angry about something for good reason. I think we all do it.

“Where’s the outrage?!”

I don’t want to be defined by negativity, though. Don’t want to be reactionary.

But I’m haunted by something I read recently so I’m going to write about it. It’s one of those things that you wish you could un-read or un-know.

You should probably go. Move on. Go watch a video of a kid breaking the 3-point free throw record. Or a video of dolphins blowing toroidal ring bubbles. Amazing.

I LOVE

Colorful sunsets
Snuggling deep ‘neath a warm comforter on a chilly morning
Hot chocolate
Crisp air and a cool breeze
Summer fruits (even if I have to take a Zyrtec first)
Puppies and dogs
Reading and the persistence of memory and knowledge through written words and symbols
Music that moves me
Bike riding
Guitars
“Foreign” accents
Snow days
Good hugs
Imagination

I HATE
[REDACTED RANT ABOUT “BOLIVIAN GHOST RAPE”. KIND OF MAKES YOU WISH SOMEONE WOULD INVENT A CASTRATION RAY GUN.]

I LOVE

The ability of humankind to overcome our lower selves
Hope
The responsible, constructive use of and expression of freedom
When people grow larger than their wounds and victimization

Laughter
A clear night sky
Reflections on bodies of water
Cameras and taking photos
Thunderstorms
Quality time
The first bite of food when you’re truly, truly hungry
Playing
Waking up refreshed
Pillow forts (and variations on the theme)
Cats that are dog-like
Passionate people
Motivated people
Sour candy (grape is the greatest)
Ceiling fans
Long hot showers
Learning
Doing
Understanding and being understood

¡Me gustas tu!

Leave a Reply

