LGN 83: personaltrainerfood

Although I’m put off by the marketing material, I am enjoying this personaltrainerfood.com eating. I saw it on groupon and after getting on the scale one morning I realized just how far I had fallen off the wagon. The isolation of working from home does not make for mindful eating habits.

Why the heck did I order so many Brussels sprouts? What was I thinking?  I was worried when it all arrived in a big box. A month’s worth of food is a lot but through judicious use of plastic and reusable grocery bags I managed to pack it all into the freezer and still leave a small amount of clearance for air circulation. Just barely. The pic below is about 2/3rds of what arrived in the big box.

DSC01083

I swear they must put something in the food because I don’t understand how I could eat so little (i.e. appropriate portions) and not be in full cravings mode all the time.

I don’t say this proudly but I am fully capable of eating a large Pizza Hut Meat Lover’s pizza in one sitting. Just like that. Sure, I’ll feel like crap in a few hours and the next day or so, but yeh. Thousands of calories, days worth of sodium and carbohydrates.

And yet I can eat these prepared meals — vegetables and proteins — between 380 and 530 calories and be fine. Sometimes I’ll eat a snack for “dessert”. The foods are very low carb and you may suddenly find yourself craving something sugary or sweet. I do start off each morning with a homemade coffee. I have been using sugar and half and half. I’m going to have to ween myself off of that but, y’know? I like it.

On one hand I think it’s kind of ridiculous that an able-bodied adult has to order prepared meals in order to eat even close to responsibly for an extended period of time. On the other hand, it’s a life hack that works for me.

It’s cheaper than my normal monthly food spending (especially with the groupon) and I haven’t eaten out since I started. Haven’t had the chain restaurant cravings that can so easily kick off a spiral of gluttony and chain reaction cravings.

The food and snacks all come separately packaged and portioned so you can mix and match your meals. That’s good because I tend to eat what’s in front of me until it’s gone. “Threat neutralized.” It’s extra ridiculous because I know how to cook. I can whip up a good, healthy meal with no problem. I also like experimenting in the kitchen. (Not too fond of the clean up, though.) The problem is that there’s a disconnect between my eyes, taste buds, and stomach. Those family sized portions never last as long as I intend.

The PTF is convenient and fast. Three and a half minutes in the microwave and you’re good to go. No muss, no fuss. Pick a vegetable, pick a protein, heat, eat.

I’ve never done this before so I don’t know how it compares to other companies. I do have some reservations about plastic in microwaves but …. Also, I’d prefer to be able to see the ingredients. Some of the options are processed meat stuffs.

Overall, it’s a matter of tradeoffs at this point. I’ll be trying it for another month, partially because I want more dry ice to play with.

DSC01170 DSC01217

I have noticed that when you a eat few reasonably portioned meals per day, if you miss one meal you will get ravenously hungry so be prepared.

PROGRESS & VARIETY

I’ve been making some progress but it’s never enough or fast enough. This is one reason why I need to cut the morning guilty pleasure of my sweetened coffee beverages. It’s better than buying one from Starbucks or wherever but still.

I am noticing more muscle definition here and there. But I’m set on getting rid of the equatorial lipid reserves, if you know what I’m sayin’.

I’m thinking it may be time to change up the workouts, too. I feel mentally stagnant and socially dead in the water. Physically, the programs are great and change every month. But I need something new. Maybe training twice a week and a class. It seems like all the fittest people do at least one Underground Athlete class aside from their training. I don’t think that’s coincidence.

And that is all. I’ve got training in a bit and then some hospital hopping to check on relatives in Baltimore today so I’ll catch you on the flip slide. Or see you at the KB workshop on Sunday.

Have a good weekend and don’t forget to turn your clocks back.

Leave a Reply

