LGN 97: Hot Fun in the Summertime

Inside: I’m cranky; The kind of person you want to be and the kind of people you want to be around; Facebook branding

“It was supposed to be the Summer of George!”

It’s been a while. I haven’t been doing much writing. Well, I haven’t been sharing much writing. So let’s get it.

I’M CRANKY

My knees hurt.

If only I could think of an outdoor activity that’s low impact, relaxing and yet provides a bit of physical challenge.

Hmmm.

THE ATTRACTOR

I’m a conflicted individual. You ask me about any major controversial or political issue and my opinion is usually dichotomous. On one hand this, on the other hand that. I believe in being reasonable and listening to people. Don’t assume the worst about them and recognize the common humanity between myself and others even if we strongly disagree.

I used to rant a lot.

I was trying for that particular genre of humorous, insightful ranting. It’s still negativity, though, and incessant sarcasm/snark is a character flaw, not an ideal or aesthetic to aspire to.

Every once in a while I have a thought or idea about a goal or the kind of person I want to be. Then, almost as if I’m on a large ship, a course correction takes place. I don’t even feel like I’ve done anything. It just starts happening.

Like I was telling some friends a few weeks ago, I read something that struck a chord recently.

If you want something out of life, you have to be the kind of person that attracts that something. Or as I’ve come to think of it, you have to be a magnet for what you want out of life.

If you want to be stinking rich — although I don’t condone base materialism — you have to be the kind of person that attracts resources, money, and wealth. What does that mean? Beats me. I ain’t rich. I suppose you’d need to educate yourself, find mentors, save, invest, develop confidence, maybe take risks, prioritize, work hard, persevere, ride the ups and downs, be willing to sacrifice some aspects of your life (that other people get to enjoy) for maybe years.

Let’s say you’re attracted to a certain type of person. Then you have to be the kind of person that attracts that kind of person. It might require some kind of transformation.

The point is, there’s work to be done to live like the kind of person you want to be. Focus. Mindfulness. Intent. I mean, suppose you’re none of those things. You’ve got a long road ahead of you.

The caveat here is that I’m not saying we need to change ourselves in order to manipulate people into satisfying our ego somehow. It’s more about growing and learning.

Here’s an example. If you decide that you want to be healthy and fit, you’ll reach a point where you realize that you want healthy and fit people in your social circles. You realize that you won’t succeed if all of the people in your life are sedentary and live off of fast food. You need other people in your life who will encourage you to move and fuel appropriately for your goals.

Subsequently, you’ll grow to be the kind of person that healthy, fit people enjoy being around. Maybe that means learning how to have a good time without torpedoing your fitness efforts. Having a good time that doesn’t revolve around food and drink. The 90/10 rule. Being supportive and encouraging and learning to accept the same. Being willing to venture outside of your comfort zone.

FACEBOOK BRANDING

Like I said, when I get something in my mind I start to will it into being. It’s not effort or manipulation. It just kind of unfolds. So I’ll tell you a little secret.

I think I’m using Facebook wrong. I regularly scroll through the newsfeed looking for things to hide from my news feed.

Hide all from youwon’tbelievewhatthisnakedwomandoeswithWHAT.com.

Hide all from breastcleavageorbuttcleaveage.com.

Haha. I should buy that domain.

My fb page has turned into almost all photos albums and MapMyRide activity logging. This wasn’t intentional. It just kind of happened.

In the past, it’s been nearly impossible to get people to take time out of all that they have going on to join me in some outdoor activities. Bridging the gap between “Hey, that would be fun.” and “Okay, I’m in. What time?” is not a small thing.

The kind of person I want to be is active, tries new things, learns for the sake of learning, shares new experiences and adventures with others, etc. So that’s what I’ve been doing (after the Winter doldrums). But for myself.

I go on walks and photo walks, bike rides, classes, mountain biking, kayaking, movies, learn what I can, scout and explore and so on by myself. Sometimes with meetup groups. I take photos because I love taking photos and, even better, taking photos of interesting people doing interesting things. It’s a powerful and fulfilling means of communication.

I’ve just been trying to stay active, y’know, avoid boredom and isolation. Shed some bf%. Live, learn, grow and have fun doing it. De-stress. Grow stronger and fitter.

Obviously, I want to attract the kind of people that I’m attracted to, platonically and romantically/physically. In that order. I want to be a magnet to compatible energy.

And I have to say that in the past few months I’ve been able to hang out with some of my favorite peeps. Some of my favorite super busy peeps, too. Much joy.

SO WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

We’ve got work to do. “I am very serious about our having fun.” Lots of options and activities, especially in the DC Metro area.

I’m not a great organizer but I’m an inviter. Come join me on some adventures. Got some kayaking going on, some biking. Soon I’ll have the logistics and extra dry bags to allow for some epicurean paddling outings. Just have to do some scouting and learn how to read a dang tide chart.

There’s some hot fun in the Summer time to be had and I am on it.

ONWARD AND UPWARD

What else. Uh… I’m hungry.

There have been a lot of changes at the gym. New things, new faces. Good stuff.

I’ve got a lot of photos to take. Ahem. You know who you are. Stop stalling.

Non-gym related, I also want to start uploading some music-oriented videos.

Music is so powerful and universal. The founding fathers should have put that in the constitution. Music as a right. You can stockpile all of the reeds, mouthpieces and strings you want, buddy. You’re making the world a better place.

I had a conversation with a Guatemalan guy who works here at the apartment complex about Fender guitars. Bridging divides, y’know.

Anyway, there’s a classical piece — Bach’s “Lute Prelude” — I’ve been intermittently trying to memorize for a few decades now. I’ve almost got it. When I do get it, I’ll make a simple video. With a twist. A musical twist.

Oh. Family medical issues continue. Rough.

It’s not helping that one of my homeys went off to superhero school or something like that. Start a new life fighting crime and being an agent of justice. Our loss is S.H.I.E.L.D.’s gain.

It’s a beautiful evening shaping up out there and I have zero motivation to get out and enjoy it. I just want to eat a pint of Haagen Dazs green tea ice cream (if I could find it anywhere), watch a bad movie, and take a pre-bedtime nap.

I’ll see what I can get into.

20140716-173525-63325898.jpg

20140716-173526-63326417.jpg

20140716-173526-63326929.jpg

20140716-173525-63325303.jpg

20140716-173527-63327544.jpg

Leave a Reply

