LGN 118 – Exhale

Inside: Travel well, Hua Davis | Exhale fat | Articles re: mental toughness | The 40% rule | How to deal

Hua Davis was more than a hiker. She was an ultra mega hiker and a pillar in the hiking and outdoor community in the Mid-Atlantic. I didn’t know Hua personally but I knew of her. She was a staple in the Mid-Atlantic hiking and trekking world. The reason I never met or conversed with her, as far as I can recall, is because there’s no way I could handle her hikes. Someone told the story of doing a 20 mile hike with her. It was a shuttle hike so everyone piled into their endpoint cars and drove to the start point. Hua chose to hike and beat them to the starting point.

She was 61 years old. If memory serves me, she was a nurse and had just been accepted into medical school.

She died from hypothermia on a solo overnight hike in the Adirondacks.

Apparently, the mountain she was on doesn’t have official trails but it’s well hiked. The temperature dropped to well below freezing. I don’t think anyone knows for sure what happened but she didn’t make it and didn’t make her scheduled rendezvous with a group of hikers the next morning.

“Those would have been fine had she not gotten soaked, but they were soaked right through,” Whitelaw said about her upper body clothing. “She ended up going through really deep snow. I don’t know if she was bushwhacking or what. … When you combine the temperature, being soaked and her body size, she’s going to going to go hypothermic quickly.”

Davis was about 5-foot, 2-inches tall and roughly 105 pounds, he said, noting she was a lean athletic woman.

Whitelaw said she had a camera with her and that the last photograph was date stamped at 5:12 p.m. Friday from the summit with the MacNaughton sign in the background.

“She looked in good spirits,” he said. “She was happy and smiling. It was a selfie that she took.”

The photograph indicates she had problems on the way down and wound up going through deep snow without snowshoes. Eventually she sat down against the base of a tree, where she went to sleep and had her vitals shut down due to the cold, he said.

– See more at: http://www.adirondackalmanack.com/2016/03/analysis-of-the-macnaughton-hikers-death.html#sthash.p5Kov2kr.dpuf

Travel well, Hua.

People don’t take hiking seriously but it is serious business. I mean, it’s not, usually. Until it is. Hua did take it seriously and was very experienced but she made a mistake. One mistake in gear choice or trail choice. When it is serious, it’s often life and death. Broken femur, allergic reaction to wasp stings, chasing after a wandering dog on Old Rag (fatal), and now hypothermia (fatal), are a few examples of trail emergency and fatality anecdotes I’ve heard in conversation in the past year.

By the way, I got a pair of handheld radios for Christmas so if anyone wants to borrow them for an outing let me know. And a Clear SPOT.

PROGRESS REPORT

Let’s do the math

I’ve been losing about 1 lb. (let’s assume it’s fat) per week. I started the nutrition coaching at 221 lbs. I’m now at 207.4 lbs.

Assuming 1lb. per week it will take two months to reach my mid-goal of 200 lbs. For some reason that bothers me. I want more and faster but on the other hand I want to do something sustainable that won’t make me feel worn out, stressed, or famished. I am so impatient, though.

I want it all
And I want it now

EXHALE

What happens to fat when we lose it? How do we lose it? Where does it go? As it turns out, according to the articles I just read – well, OK. In order to metabolize fat you need oxygen and water. With proper hydration you don’t break down fat. While your body is processing alcohol you don’t break down fat.

http://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2014/12/16/371210831/when-you-burn-off-that-fat-where-does-it-go

After the biochemical burning of fat, the three products are carbon dioxide, water, and energy. 84% carbon dioxide and 16% water. We literally exhale the exhaust of fat burning via our lungs.

Inhale the positive, exhale the negative? Fascinating.

MENTAL TOUGHNESS AND COMFORT ZONES

Sometimes I feel compelled to share something and I don’t know why, always hoping it’ll help somebody.

Cultivate Mental Toughness With the Navy SEAL’s “40 Percent Rule”

How (and Why) to Develop Your Mental Toughness

The Science of Breaking Out of Your Comfort Zone (and Why You Should)

I remember my grandmother saying that aging isn’t for cowards. She’s about to turn 98 years old.

I wish I could take her pain that has her nearly immobilized. I wish I could give her a pain free week so she could take a trip or cook a holiday meal or whatever she wants to do. I would take it and struggle for a week (especially while I still have prescription pain killers on hand).

If only.

“When your mind is telling you you’re done, you’re really only 40 percent done.”

As I’m rebounding from the depths I think about how to make that process of recovering from pain, failure, and injury more intentional and effective.

Time is a healer like Eva Cassidy said but without the right “medicine” there’s a lot of unnecessary suffering along the way. Enough pain and you leave the realm of injury and enter the realm of trauma.

I’ve found that the best way to move on or move through is to make new memories. As I read recently, for every negative experience creative a positive thought. It sounds trite as memes generally are but there’s truth to it. I read that we actually get a rush, a release of dopamine, when we dwell on negative things.

The brain will fixate on negative interactions and experiences. There’s not really any way to stop it the same way there’s no cure for a throat shredding snot clogged common cold, but there are ways to cope, alleviate the pain and discomfort of the symptoms while shortening the recovery time. That’s what makes it so tough. All the willpower in the world won’t heal a wound. It allows you to work through it and take control of the recovery while the wound heals with time.

Positivity, laughter and light are natural painkillers. It’s no coincidence that Why We Blog’s tagline is: Live, Laugh, Love.

1 comment

Add Yours

Leave a Reply

