LGN 123: Meatless Mondays

TODAY IS MEATLESS MONDAY

It didn’t go how I expected. I made this video last week. I still have two of those big ol’ mushrooms left. But that’s about all the preparation I did for today.

So I mostly ate nothing. Morning homemade latte. Let’s call it a fast. I did eat some romaine lettuce. I can eat that stuff like potato chips except when it’s started to spoil. Hate that taste/smell — slightly rotten food.

Then … I got hungry.

It seems like a lot of people are trying vegan diets. It’s come a long way from what it used to be. My concept of a vegan was a very thin, indoor person who ate junk food, drank a lot, and smoked like a chimney.

Nowadays, you have athletes, fitness and physique professionals touting the benefits. Talk about a sea change. That’s more of what I’m interested in. Being fit with well-fueled, efficient bioware.

There are a lot of good reasons to not eat meat — health, ethical, environmental. Everybody’s got their reasons. Don’t make me no nevermind.

You know I keep it real (especially when I’m tired). I’m tired of being overweight. Tired of improving in a lot of ways but not getting any leaner. Tired of being demoralized by mirrors.  Haha. Those effin’ mirrors.

I go up and down. Over the years I’ve made progress and than regressed multiple times. It’s no mystery as to why.

The clocks are soon to fall. Winter is coming.

The problem is, it’s nearly impossible to maintain drive and focus, motivation and willpower without sustained meaningful interactions with people. And vice versa. I don’t know about the rest of y’all, but:

When I’m drivin’ in my car
And a man comes on the radio
He’s tellin’ me more and more
About some useless information
Supposed to fire my imagination
I can’t get no, oh no no no
Hey hey hey, that’s what I say

I can’t get no satisfaction
I can’t get no satisfaction
‘Cause I try and I try and I try and I try
I can’t get no, I can’t get no

Which leads to comfort food and sedentary ways, is my point. Today, in a fit of hanger, I started thinking about all of the things that qualify as vegetarian. Like a deep dish cheese pizza with mushrooms and assorted vegetables. The Sunflower vegetarian restaurant used to deliver but I looked at their menu and there was a lot of soy protein, wheat gluten faux meat. Not that there’s anything wrong with that but soy protein doesn’t agree with me.

So I “cheated”, meaning I ordered food instead of preparing it myself. I went for Indian food take out, which isn’t necessarily the clean vegetarian glow kind of food I had in mind since the sauces can be heavy — cream and butter laden. Plus fast food tends to be ridiculously high in sodium, regardless of the cuisine.

Still, it’s been a meatless Monday. I’m chalkin’ it up in the win column.

Hm. I figure I’ll julienne the portobellas and put them in the hot and sour soup. By the way, there are a zillion ways to spell portobellas. Just about every permutation is correct.

RECIPES

I’ve been collecting recipes, though. I need to add some meals to my repertoire. Like some of these. Share ’em if you got ’em.

I’ve got some food allergies and intolerances to avoid but you can find pretty much anything on the internet so it shouldn’t be hard to compensate. The goal is to eat well. Not just substitute whatever to chase cravings.

Like crepes. Man, I could go for a savory crepe right about now.

THE COME UP

I told Matt I want to get strong again and he did a hell of a job balancing that with knee, shoulder and lower back maintenance in this month’s program. It’s like asking for a perfect circle with four 90 degree corners but he did it somehow.

A quick and steady recovery to you, Bales.

I definitely pushed it last week during strength training and pushed it some more in the outdoors on the weekend. So the knees need a little time to calm down.

It’s even more incentive, in theory, to not eat food that’s inflammatory to my system.

But damn it feels good to be a gangsta. It feels right to be making progress again and pushing it. Good to go hard again. It’s been a while.

I’m fixin’ to tear it up.

Leave a Reply

