2016 Year in Review

What did I do last year? I had ideas. I had plans. It didn’t go as I expected.

This isn’t about current events, politics, or the national and global zeitgeist. 2016 was a tire fire in many ways.

I did cross some things off my list. I took a handgun class. Have to follow up on that for more. I went hammock camping a few times. I went on some pretty cool bike rides. Did some good hikes. Went canoeing for the first time. I finally traveled abroad and got my first stamp on the new passport.

I lost family members. My cousin, Debbie. My second cousin, Cousin Bill. Rest in peace, family.

I had knee surgery, which is also a good reminder that time is passing. Subsequently, I didn’t do any Winter sports and my season pass went entirely to waste. Sometimes I think I may sell my snowboard gear and sometimes I think I’ll just buy some fancy boarding knee braces. I didn’t go backpacking at all. I only went camping a few times when I intended to be out a lot. I didn’t lose weight. Well, I did and then … the ciiiiircle of liiiiiife.

2016

I’m a visual person so imagery really helps to put things in perspective.

I started a not so very good yet YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCG1ZUgFqhc3b1ETYJ_-qgqQ

And a Facebook photo page:

https://www.facebook.com/darkwavephotography/

Some photo highlights:

2017

So what’s the deal for this year? I don’t have any resolutions, really. Some years I have a theme in mind. Haven’t put much thought into it yet, though. I guess that’s what this blog is about. It’s time to start thinking about things. Goals, themes, direction, directives.

Mind map.2017.png

I’d like to do some more traveling, this time with a little more forethought. You know, save up and get a good deal. Nationally, internationally, road trips. Take more and better photos. Make more music. Don’t settle. Gotta round out the fitness regimen. Be proactive about my health. Save money.

My photos and my Facebook “brand” are authentic but, obviously, they’re the highlight reel. It looks like non-stop fun. And it is fun, having the freedom and privilege to explore, learn, try, step out there a bit. But fun is the butter, sugar or salt of human experience. It’s great. It’s amazing.

“This tastes amazing!”

“Of course it does. It’s butter, sugar and salt, the three fast-food food groups.”

Fun is easy. Do something that you like doing and you’re having fun. But in 2017, it’s about what’s between the fun.

I was talking to a friend a while back and she said I should start a meetup group. That way I could spend time doing activities that are tailor made fun while meeting people and increasing my social scene. It’s not a bad suggestion. Kind of brilliant, actually. I may do it at some point.

But … I don’t want to be a tour guide. I don’t want to spend the bulk of my energy entertaining people as a service. Because you know how life is today. Even when you’re with people, with friends, they’re often texting, phoning, or planning what they’re going to do next. It’s rare for people to be mentally present where they are these days. That’s not wrong, per se. Personally, it can get annoying but this isn’t a right/wrong issue. Everyone’s got their own life to live and their own way of living it. Be happy and healthy. Get yours.

It’s a matter of emphasis and balance. For me, I mean. It doesn’t facilitate my happiness and health. There’s the rub. I need people who want to hang out even if we’re just being bored together. What do you want to do? I don’t know. What do you want to do?

You have to be twice as good as them to get half of what they have.

What to do about that? How to find that balance? Hmmm. For one, find social ecosystems where I’m viewed as the same species, as I like to put it. If you know what it’s like being a minority in a majority culture, particularly if you’re a token, you feel me.

New places, new faces. Manage my social energy more effectively and strategically. Take care of numero uno.

What do I want to accomplish or learn this year? I’ll have to get back to you on that.

  • Learn to swim
  • Learn to shoot (right handed and left eye dominant is awkward)
  • Photo exhibit at Artomatic
  • Play live music
  • Write a book (or finish a book since I’ve started stories)
  • Continue to recuperate the knees
  • PRs in the gym
  • Snowshoe
  • Do the health thing
  • Road trip, travel
  • And more…

In the short term, back to basics.

Leave a Reply

